Final Fantasy Friday: Final Fantasy Tarot – XX Judgement

<–XIX The Sun                                                                                     XXI The World–>

This is my current Final Fantasy Friday post where I’ll be discussing which characters I think exemplify each card of the Major Arcana.  If this is your first time here, please head over to my Final Fantasy Tarot page for explanation.  Now onto the next card!

XX Judgement

judgement-the-lifestream

If I’d remembered that Judgement was also called “The Angel,” I might have considered a different angle per se.  Be that as it is, the Lifestream from FFVII was my first and solid choice.  The souls of the Planet is also the spirit and the will of the Planet that would have found humanity wanting and worthy of destruction save for one soul thrust there before her natural time who prayed for our salvation.  It’s a good thing Aeris had that job and that compassion.  I would’ve let humanity rot.  All of our actions were drawn up into that moment, and it is a close judgement call who or what did or would’ve done more damage: us or the impending meteor.  The Lifestream neutralized one and would’ve ousted the other (arguably if we consider Advent it partially did with geostigma), save for that “divine” and innocent intervention.  I could think of no better concept for judgement than this, though there are some pretty close alternates.


Alternates: Mt. Ordeals (IV), Kefka (VI), The Iifa Tree (IX), Sin (X)

I was this close to picking Mt. Ordeals after Mr. Panda guessed it last week.  I don’t know how I never considered it before, because it is the perfect example of judgement, almost ironically so, as Cecil has been judging himself quite harshly throughout the entire game up to this time.  When he reaches the summit of the mountain where all others have been deemed unworthy and turned away, he discovers that Ordeals was indeed made for him, a message left his father KluYa, which is why all others failed before.  The only reason I didn’t pick this excellent example is because Mt. Ordeals is a singular judgement, put in place for one person, whereas the Lifestream is a universal judgement meant for all of humanity.

I couldn’t help thinking of Kefka’s “Light of Judgment” when I saw this card.  This is not a just ruling, though, but rather one from a twisted, maniacal, false “god.”  Sin is in a similar vein.  Though the religion of Yevon believes it exists for their atonement, digging deeper reveals the truth (and also the game’s heavily Gnostic and religiously skeptical leanings).  The Iifa Tree is *spoiler* another artificial/contrived tool of judgment.  Installed by Garland in order to exchanged the souls of Gaia for those of Terra, *end spoiler* it’s revered as a sanctuary *spoiler* until this truth is revealed *end spoiler*

The Lifestream is the true and universal judgement that has no hidden agenda or original nefarious purpose.

Also I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but the Lifestream looks a hell of a lot like the northern lights.

northern-lights

This is not something I considered when I wrote the eponymous fanfiction, but now that I see it, I wonder if Squeenix did it on purpose.  The aurora is (among other things) a reaction of particles with the earth”s magnetic field, which protects us from dangerous radiation from the sun.  Therefore, the northern lights are a sign of the planet’s protection…


No one guessed the card, but there were a few guesses for the alternatives.  I’ve already mentioned Mr. Panda’s Mt. Ordeals that almost swayed me, and   iplayedthegame and LightningEllen both guessed Sin.

Next week is the last for this project!  The card is The World, which could be considered a dead giveaway or an impossible choice.  I’ll also give the final scores, and oh crap, I need to create some sort of prize :p

Happy (final) guessing!

<–XIX The Sun                                                                                     XXI The World–>

Save

Save

Save

13 thoughts on “Final Fantasy Friday: Final Fantasy Tarot – XX Judgement

  1. My winning streak still continues 🙂

    Final Fantasy XIII-2 has an absolutely perfect character for this, but alas, someone hasn’t played that. My brain isn’t working tonight so this falls into the impossible choice category for me, lol.

    The last card already? It’s been fun! *sniffs*

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I know! I can’t believe it’s almost at an end. It was a lot of fun. I’m glad I decided to do it. I have another project planned, but I think I’m going to take a break for the Friday post for a while so I can work on other things. I’m thinking the next will either be Game of Thrones tarot or Final Fantasy astrology/personality type 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You’re the second or third person to say that! I think that’ll be my next Friday project then. I’ll have to do some preliminary research, but I think it’ll be fun *every character I love ends up being INFJ because we’re awesome*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That seems to be the favorite one! I’ve seen things about it around, but I don’t quite agree with them (like I didn’t really agree with the tarot stuff I saw), and, well, I’m a narcissist so of course what I think is better! (Disclaimer: I do not really think this. How awful would I be if I did?)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad you liked my idea! I have to say though, I love your idea, and am glad you picked it! I would have never guessed the Lifestream at all! I can’t believe we’re actually at the end. You did an outstanding job on these, and it’s been fun reading and guessing every week! For my final guess, I will guess Gaia, which is the world or Planet of Final Fantasy. I think it’s in multiple games, including I, VII, and IX, so I’m not sure if there’s a particular Gaia that fits best. Obviously, with VII, it’s most similar to the Lifestream, which seems to fit. But in FF1, there’s actually a cycle in the world because of Garland’s 2000-year time loop. And from what I’m reading, The World is related to cycling back to the fool. I love IX though, so there’s also that. Yup, I’ll say Gaia.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I know! It’s been almost 22 weeks, and I’m glad I decided to do it this way. Initially, I was going to do one big post about it, but I really loved how it turned out with the guessing and the discussion and whatnot. It was a ton of fun.

    I want to say Gaia is the name of the world in all Final Fantasies! They all take place on a world named that (even if it isn’t explicitly said I believe), and I have some theories about the FF timeline, but I need to do more research on it. I was quite blown away when I realized that FFI was a time loop. They thought it was their last game, but they certainly set things up to think about those implications in later games.

    Ah that make so much sense! Since Zidane could definitely be the fool and the main world of that game is definitely called Gaia. Hm, I’ll have more to say about that later, since IX is the end of an era, but more aligns with the earlier games.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

