Question of the Week: 12/18/16

<–Question of the Week: 12/11/16          Question of the Week: 12/25/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

What’s your favorite Christmas/Holiday episode?

As luck would have it, I’m currently watching one of my favorite Christmas episodes right now: Family Guy “Road to the North Pole,” where Brian and Stewie travel to Santa’s workshop so the megalomaniac baby can kill the jolly old man due to a mall Santa slighting him.  Of course once they reach the pole, things aren’t quite what they expect.  It has one of the best songs in the series, “Christmas Time Is Killing Us.”

I’m also fond of the Futurama Xmas episodes where the Santa robot tries to kill everyone out too late on Christmas Eve,

My favorite Christmas episode though is from American Dad.  Season 8 Ep. 7 “Season’s Beatings.”  Stan is thwarted in his dream to play Christ at the Crucifixion, because he doesn’t have the abs for it per Father Donovan.  The minister gives him the job of playing Santa Claus, but Stan’s disappointment is compounded with rage when he finds out Roger’s gotten the role since the drunken alien has absolutely no respect for Christianity and only did it because it sounded fun.  Stan proceeds to beat the shit out of Roger on national TV, which gets him thrown out of the church.  The only way to reverse the excommunication is to either donate $10 million, find the Holy Grail, or kill the antichrist, and as luck would have it, Hayley and Jeff recently adopted a toddler who would up being said antichrist!  What else can be said at this point besides shenanigans ensue.


What’s your favorite Christmas episode?  This question is more geared towards specific television shows.  I’ll have one about Christmas specials next week 🙂

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

<–Question of the Week: 12/11/16          Question of the Week: 12/25/16–>

20 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 12/18/16

    1. I used to count Family Guy as my favorite show, but I’ve found it really lacking lately. American Dad continues to be awesome as it goes along, and Roger is my favorite character ever.

      That Christmas episode is great, so is the one where he has to go back in time to kill Reagan, his idol. I like the one where he trades life with Principal Lewis (who I could write an entire post about that dude). The show is just epic ridiculousness and hilarity.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure that’s the one in which Roger bursts through the window yelling “TACOS!” which was totally unexpected. There aren’t many “miss” episodes to my mind. A favourite of mine is the rapture episode.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. American Dad is my go-to at work to listen to during the day. I love “1600 Candles” where Stan and Francine manipulate Steve’s age because they don’t want to deal with him going through puberty.

        There’s nothing Roger could do that would shock me at this point lol. I found myself on a Reddit post about him claiming he was the most confusing thing on television. I’d have to agree.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s such a good episode of The Simpsons! I haven’t seen that X-files one or if I have, I don’t recall it. I didn’t watch that show religiously, though what I did see I liked. I really wish I could find a way to watch the new season, because I’ve heard good things.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I don’t think I’ve seen this American Dad episode yet… I must correct this! I also love killer robot Santa on Futurama.

    I love the Simpsons episode where the get Santa’s Little Helper on Christmas. I actually think my favourite is the Xmas episode where Bart steals a copy of the fictional video game Bonestorm. I always laugh at the commercial they showed. It had a Bazooka wielding “Bonestorm Santa” giving the kids the game to play. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s a holiday episode in Parks and Rec, I think it’s either season 3 or 4 where Leslie hits rock bottom, and the Parks department all work together on a Christmas gift to cheer her up. Makes me tear up every time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yes, that’s my friend IFL Kat! She’s been trying to get me to watch Parks and Rec for a few years now. It’s on my list; I just haven’t gotten to it. I HAVE seen the “Treat yo’self” scene though, and I love it. It’s how I justify doughnut for breakfast.

      Treat yo’self 2017!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

