The State of the Gamer: 12/6/16

<–The State of the Gamer: 11/29/16          The State of the Gamer: 12/13/16–>

A weekly post updated every Tuesday detailing my current gaming projects.  I have quite a backlog of games to either play or watch, and I’m hoping a weekly article will assist with my progress as my other accountable posts have done with reading and writing.
I have an account at Grouvee, which is a essentially Goodreads for gamers, so please feel free to friend me there!
Original source of the banner art is located here.

Title: Final Fantasy I & II: Dawn of Souls
Series: Final Fantasy
Genre: RPG – Fantasy
Developer: Square/Tose (GBA)
Original Platform: NES
Original Release Date: December 18, 1987
Current Platform: Gameboy Advance
Current Platform Release Date: July 29, 2004
Date Started: November 20, 2016

dawn-of-souls

After much gil grinding (I think that’s what the unit of currency is in this game.  It might be GP, but “gil grinding” has better alliteration), I was finally able to afford all of the updated equipment and new spells that Pravoka had to offer.  Beating Bikke and his pirates was an easy feat, and now I have his ship.  Next up is sailing to Elfheim so that I can gil grind for longer in order to buy better equipment and even more expensive spells.  Hopefully, I can find enemies that drop decent amounts of money.

Title: Final Fantasy IV
Series: Final Fantasy
Genre: RPG – Fantasy
Developer: Square
Original Platform: SNES
Original Release Date: July 19, 1991
Current Platform: Game Boy Advance
Current Platform Release Date: December 12, 2005
Date Started: October 24. 2016

final-fantasy-iv

Similar to Dawn of Souls, I’ve spent the past few days grinding for gil in this game, too.  FFIV doesn’t have a lot of side quests, but after you return to Baron and obtain the Enterprise, there’s a brief interlude where you’re not bound by the threads of the story and can veer a bit from the path.  I went to Agart and am now in Mythril, trying to make enough money to buy two sets of Mythril armors for Cecil and Cid.  Afterwards, it’s off to Eblan to loot the empty castle.

Title: World of Final Fantasy
Series: Final Fantasy
Genre: RPG – Fantasy
Developer: Square Enix
Platform(s): PlayStation 4, PlayStation Vita
Release Date: October 25, 2016
Date Bought: October 21, 2016
Date Started: November 5, 2016

world-of-final-fantasy

Speaking of Agart for IV, I recently visited Agarthir in this game before venturing to Nibelheim per Tifa’s request.  I’m just about to complete the fire cavern in Valley Seven since Rydia took care of the flaming cyclone blocking my way.  I’m half tempted to look up what’s going on with Agarthir since something fishy is happening in that town, but I didn’t discover anything amiss while I was there.  In other news, my husband has started up a game of his own and may catch up to me fairly soon.  He recently defeated the boss of the Ice Ridge.

I’m really curious how I can obtain the two other Mirages you forfeit on when you make your decision whom to fight in the Nether Nebula.  I chose Shiva so I have Bablizz, but I want the two you’d get if you choose Ifrit or Ramuh.  Speaking of the latter, I’m hoping he shows up in the coliseum at some point since a powerful thunder Mirage would be a great asset.

Ah random, but in the English dubbing Jennifer Hale (of Shepherd and Lightning fame) does a voice in WOFF, too!  I don’t remember whom, but if you check out the twins’ room, you can look at all the characters you’ve found and check out their specs.  I think it might be the Masked Woman, but don’t quote me on that.  My husband thinks that she might be the twins’ mother, which reminds me of an ASOIAF theory oddly enough.  There are a few people out there who think Quaithe, a shadowbinder who wears a red, lacquered mask, is Daenerys’s mom so masked moms is now a thing.


Games Currently Watching

Title: Mass Effect II
Series: Mass Effect
Genre: Action RPG – Sci-Fi
Developer: BioWare
Original Platform(s): Xbox 360, Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 3
Original Release Date: January 26, 2010
Let’s Player: Olizandri
Date Started: November 19, 2016

mass-effect-2

I just saw the part where Shepherd goes to Horizon and faces the Collector threat for the first time.  This was after the intrepid Let’s Player Olizandri rescued Jack from that prison ship, and seriously?  Why they hell would the Blue Suns think they could capture Shepherd?  That was the stupidest ploy ever, and it caused the downfall of the entire penal colony.  There’s also been talk of Liara and the Shadow Broker.  I’m looking forward to that part.  I just love the title Shadow Broker. *adds to list*


Games Added to Playlist: 0


Games Bought This Week: 0


What are you currently playing and/or watching? Is it something new or old?  Is it a first time run or a replay?  What’s the genre?  Would you recommend it?  What’s on your radar to play next?

<–The State of the Gamer: 11/29/16          The State of the Gamer: 12/13/16–>

Save

Save

40 thoughts on “The State of the Gamer: 12/6/16

  1. Jennifer Hale is one of my favorite voice actresses, in so far as she actually does *different* voices for her characters (two different voices for Naomi in Metal Gear Solid and Metal Gear Solid 4, Massy from Baldur’s Gate, Mireille from Republique…) ❤ her!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well you’re in the midst of FFXV so it’s cool! Have you had a chance to start it yet? One of my friends just made a post asking if people wanted her to block spoilers. I’m still on the fence about whether I’m going to play it, but I figured I’d err on the side of caution and said I didn’t want to see any. I’m concentrating almost exclusively on WOFF, and I play DoS and FFIV right before bed. I usually check my emails and therefore everyone else’s blog posts on Wednesday, but, er, I spent four hours playing WOFF instead. I’m off tomorrow, too, and I really need to clean because we’re planning on getting a tree, so I have to stay away from the PS4.

        Like

      2. I’m 30 ours in to FFXV and in the middle of chapter 9 of 14, so I might even finish the main story this weekend. Apparently there’s some cool post-game stuff, like new gear and optional dungeons, and you can apparently upgrade your car so you can fly around the open map instead of drive.

        WoFF I’ve only made it to the point where I beat Ramuh maybe an hour or two in to the story.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I read somewhere online about the “first ending” so yeah, there’s definitely something up. Random side note, but I found a pretty awesome tipster on YouTube if you’re interested in that kind of thing. I know some people adamantly refuse any and all tips, wanting to make their own way. I’m a pseudo completionist so I have no issue with looking up information. I’m trying to not really do a guide for this game or read ahead, but I don’t have a problem with looking up potentially missed mirages or seeing what might be in a murkrift so I know how to prepare my stacks.

        Like

      4. I was using that one! And this guy, too. I have this one bookmarked, and I’ll bookmark the one you sent.

        http://www.rpgsite.net/feature/5039-world-of-final-fantasy-mirage-guide-mirage-list-prismtunity-abilities-more-part-1

        This is the YouTuber I’ve been watching, too. I had no idea about the Holy Dragon, Undead Princess, and Princess Goblin. I think he’s going to continue to put up videos, and I really like his explanations.

        I see no shame in using a guide!

        Like

      5. Certain games are nearly impossible to do a completionist run without. I used one in Persona 4 and have no regrets. There’s so much emphasis on using your free time correctly (the game works on an in-game 24-hour calendar where you manage your free time between after school activities, gardening, side quests, etc., similar to FF Type-0). Had I not used it, i would have missed out on SO MUCH STORY lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Currently 22 hours in to Final Fantasy XV and taking my sweet time. I saw folks finish the game in 30-40 hours, yet I’m 22 hours in and only on chapter 3 of 14. I’ve been casually exploring, doing sidequests, fishing, etc., and loving it. Very, very happy with how it turned out so far.

    This reminds me that I have the Dawn of Souls release on GBA somewhere around here! I liked that version of FF1. Did you see the rumor that Final Fantasy 1-9 might release on PS4 with trophy support? Along with the XIII trilogy? Smells like bullshit, but I’d be thrilled for all of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah well this answers the question I brought up in my last comment :p I’m a thorough gamer, too. Not necessarily a completionist, but I try to get and explore as much as I can. If it’s too much of a hassle (I’m looking at you 200 lightning strike dodges on Thunder Plains) I don’t bother with it, but if it’s doable and reasonable, I try to get it done.

      Whaaaaat?! Really? That sounds a bit too good to be true. I’ll keep an ear cocked for it, but I don’t expect much either. If the XIII trilogy comes out, I can think of one particular blogger who’ll be overjoyed!

      Like

      1. Of course I answered you before checking my other comments, haha.

        FFXV is the most enjoyable FF I’ve played since X. There’s problems, particularly in its pacing and the frequency in which it introduces characters and forgets they exist, but the gameplay is rad, the open world is incredible, and I *love* the bromance going on. The social aspect of being able to upload Prompto’s photos to social media is great. I also love that you can ride around in your car listening to songs from every other FF game, including the MMOs, spin-offs, and Kingsglaive film.

        I’m hoping to review XV once I finish and I’m going to keep it spoiler free. =)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I knew I’d forgotten something! I meant to add Type-0 to my to-play list. I’m a fan of dark and haunting, too. It’s why VII is my favorite!

        Dude, VIII had some seriously dark parts in it. I NEVER liked Tears’ Point. There was something so super creepy about that entire place, and I would run through it as fast as possible. I always thought something absolutely horrifying was going to jump out at me. The cells and that music were just…off. It bothered me. And parts where they’d play Fithos Lusec Wecos Vinosec without the music and just the voices. Then the Ragnarok with those terrifying aliens before you cleared it out? I should do a “Creepiest Parts of Final Fantasy” list at some point. I just saw a video about 13 Lovecraftian video game villains, and was happy to see FFVII was on there with Jenova, but I wish I hadn’t watched that at night before bed D:

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice progress! I find farming for currency in games can be quite relaxing. I lost track of how many hours I spent farming with Lightning and her crew to get all the weapons in FFXIII.

    I relapsed and bought another game I don’t have time to play: Last Guardian. Everyone was describing as an epic emotional journey, and I just couldn’t resist… Now I’m rushing through Fallout 4 so I can play it. I have a rule of one game in progress at a time, per console. Otherwise I’m left with a mess of unfinished games.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A lot of times I’ll just throw on Netflix as I’m doing it since I don’t really have to pay attention. It’s fairly easy with DoS, but with IV I have to keep an eye on my HP and MP. The town I’m near makes you pay 500 gil for the inn so when I need to rest I fly back to another place. I’d be done if the piece of armor I wanted didn’t cost 17000 gil AND I need to get it for two people!

      That’s a good system. I sort of have that implemented, but I’m playing two games on my DS/GBA, one on the PS4, and I still want to start playing FFV on my PS. I spend all my spare time playing WOFF though. Tis a hard life :p

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m a recovered WoW addict. I’ve spent literally days of my life farming for cute little follower pets, haha. Must resist urge to return… MMOs are backlog progress killers, but I really miss my Druid and Hunter *sniffs*

        It seems to work for me at least. I need to hurry up and get through Fallout 4. The Last Guardian looks so beautiful.

        Oh and the almighty Google has corrected me… I always get Jennifer Hale and Ali Hillis mixed up. Both of them are incredibly talented ladies! Ali Hillis does the voice work for my badass shero Lightning and also Liara from Mass Effect. I also read yesterday that she even got Lightning’s L’Cie tattoo so she is really dedicated to the awesome character! 🙂 Jennifer Hale does female Shepard and a ton of other amazing video game characters. I’m proud to say she is also a fellow Canadian, eh.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oooooh okay, well either way both Shepherd and Liara are voiced so beautifully, and if you’re going to get a tattoo, it means you’re in it for the long haul. That’s amazing. If you ever met her (after May of next year), you’d have something to talk about and share 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. For some reason, I was reading about Lightning and tattoos when I came across the article… 🙂 Is it May 26th yet? *taps fingers nervously*

        I would really like to meet her though! I found out she also did the voice for Lady Palutena in Kid Icarus Uprising. I thought the voice sounded familiar during my playthrough, but I didn’t clue in since she does a deeper tone for Lightning. She’s also an actress and has made many TV and movie appearances. I love learning 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I wonder what TV and movies she’s been in now! When I was watching the first Mass Effect I totally called Marina Sirtis who played Counselor Troi on TNG as the matriarch. She used the exact same voice for that that she used on Star Trek. The actress actually has a London accent, but she contrived the one for Troi to make it sound more distinct and not like she was from England. I guess because Troi is from another planet so she wanted to mix things up. I still love how Picard was French with that perfectly crafted RP lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

