The State of the Writer: 12/3/16

<–The State of the Writer: 11/26/16          The State of the Writer: 12/10/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 278,222
Prior Word Count: 278,815
Word Difference: -593
Status: Editing
Progress: Second edit of Chapter 7

Original artwork: Sephiroth by Torimorris (Deactivated Deviant Art account)
Original artwork: Sephiroth by Torimorris (Deactivated Deviant Art account)

This is one of the potential covers for Chapter 7.  I’m waiting to hear back on my first choice as the original image was found on an art website.  I contacted the artist, but there’s been no word as of yet.  It’s a gorgeous photo of a black lily on a black background with just enough contrast to make out the flower’s shape.  The above picture isn’t a terrible choice and captures the essence of the chapter’s beginning, but I really love the lily.

This is the other non-lily option.

chapter-7-dark-promises-2

The first edit of this chapter was fairly simple.  I didn’t make any drastic changes, and it only took a week.  I’m hoping the second edit is the same.

Quote: White winter roses that grew as far north as flowers would dare to bear bloom.  Then marigolds hardy and hale.  Asters of purple deeper than night plucked from the fields around Kalm.  Before the Mythril Mine of old he discovered poppies so red with black hearts.  While deep in a crag of the great red canyon, the general found rouge peonies.  Far in the south in what once was Mideel, he’d gathered huge dahlia blooms. Finally, yellow crocus huge with smooth petals that grew in the rich mountain earth.  Guilt had rained down like fire from heaven, but he had gone there for her…


Project: Character Analysis
Title: Cecil Harvey
Source: Final Fantasy IV
Current Word Count: 855
Status: Drafting
Progress: Wrapping up

cecil-harvey

I just can’t seem to get enough of Cecil and IV.  I’m still playing it on the DS/GBA, and I’m still talking about him.  About a year ago, I had a dream that I would do a character analysis every other week or so.  Thus far (besides this WIP) I have two. Since I just finished the monster review of FFIV, the game and its main character are still fresh in my mind.  I figured it was as good a time as any to write the long ago planned analysis.

I’m  in the process of wrapping up and should have this finished before the week is out.  Since not all character analyses are for Final Fantasy (in fact this one about Cecil is the first for the series I’ve done), this won’t count as a Final Fantasy Friday post (not that I need one for that day with the Tarot series still going on).  I’ll just put it up whenever I finish.

Now that I’m thinking about it…maybe I’ll plan analyses for Golbez and Kain.  Hm, it looks like I already have Kain on my itinerary, but I did add Golbez.  The list mostly consists of characters from Final Fantasy and A Song of Ice and Fire, which should come as no surprise to anyone.


Project: Essay
Title: Half a Tragedy Is Worse Than Whole
Subject: FFVII Comparative and Meta
Status: On hold
Progress: Outline Completed

I didn’t do any work whatsoever on “Half a Tragedy.”  I’d planned to start it last Monday, but when I sat down to write, I wasn’t feeling it, and if I don’t have passion for a project, there’s no point in forcing it.  All I want to work on is The Broken Rose.  I’m hoping I can dredge up some enthusiasm for Threads of Sorrow next year.


I usually post this on Saturday, but I spent most of that day sleeping.  I’d brought my car in for inspection and found out that it wouldn’t pass due to an exhaust leak.  When I bought it, I also purchased a bumper to bumper warranty.  Apparently, that doesn’t cover the exhaust system, which makes no goddamn sense to me seeing as it’s between the two bumpers, but whatever.  The estimated cost was between $1300-$1400.  I just paid off all my credit cards by taking a loan from my 401k.  Now I only have around $200 on my one card and a paycheck reduced by around $200 every payday (it’s an automatic deduction).  The dealership didn’t have the part, and the mechanic suggested I look for a place that could weld in order to fix the leak.  My more local mechanic noticed the exhaust leak when I brought the car in for an oil change a few months ago, but I figured that it would be covered under warranty so I didn’t bother to get it repaired.  They’d estimated it around $700, which is half, but still money I need to put back on my credit card that I just paid off.

When I’m in a depressive state all I can really do is sleep, so that’s what I did.  Now it’s morning, and I have even more things to check and do, which does wonders for my anxiety (I have both.  It’s hell) so I’m trying to play catch up.  Anyway, that’s why this is being posted today instead of yesterday.


What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 11/26/16          The State of the Writer: 12/10/16–>

Save

Save

Save

22 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 12/3/16

  1. Sorry to hear about your car troubles. :/ I’ve had to read a few warranty cases and they can definitely be tricky, which is a kind word for it. In any event, not a fun expense to have this time of year.

    I look forward to more TBR (lovely writing, as always), and your essays.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My coworker suggested I take a look at the warranty and told me if I needed to I could ask her husband (who’s also a lawyer) to take a look. I might do that tomorrow. It’s annoying because to me “bumper to bumper” means the entire car. I can understand it not covering general maintenance like tires, brakes, and oil, but this is a system that needs to be repaired. I’m kind of resigned to it at this point. I’m off Friday so I’m going to drop it off Thursday night so I have some time to wrap presents (I HATE wrapping presents lol).

      I’m on the second edit of Chapter 7 right now! I was hoping it would be as easy as the first edit, but second edit me is more picky. I had a feeling this would happen hehe. I’m hoping I have more enthusiasm for essays again soon. I want to work on that Greek tragedy one, but I’m just so blah about it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Another awesome picture of the Great General. I hope you hear back from the artist, but the runner up image is nice too, just not as awesome. I’m really looking forward to meeting Cecil. Once my damn copy of FFIV gets here of course.

    My last safety inspection cost me $1,200 from a lovely combination of problems (took me awhile to pay that surprise off). It really sucks when debt gets paid off and then life decides to throw a wrench into things. Those evil car dealerships are quite crafty at sneaking loop holes into warranties. An exhaust systems is a critical part of a damn car. There is no good reason why this shouldn’t be covered! $700 is better than $1400 at least. I’m sorry you have to pay that though. Anxiety and depression is a rough combo… I really hope things get better for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She got back to me! She doesn’t normally want her pictures to be used online, but I think she was impressed that I took the time to seek her out and ask her so she gave it the okay 🙂 I replied back asking if she wanted a site to link it to, but she gave me a name with a copyright symbol next to it, so I think I’m good go when I post the chapter.

      Ugh, cars are great until it comes time for repairs. There are some states where inspection is free and some states that don’t have emissions standards. Pennsylvania has neither of those conditions; you have to pay for your own inspection and your car has to pass emissions. I’m hoping the $700 my mechanic was quoting prior still holds. It also sucks that you pretty much can’t really put it off. You can get pulled over and fined for not having your inspection up to date, which I don’t want to happen. My stickers say 11/16 so it could technically happen, though it’s unlikely. Since it’s only a month out, and if it did, I could say that I have an appointment, which is true. I’m off this Friday so I’m going to drop the car off Thursday. That’ll give me time to wrap a particular present for my husband hehe.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great! I can’t wait to see it again when I read Chapter 7, no hurry though. *waits patiently*

        Cars have so many expenses… Repairs, maintenance, gas, etc. My province was talking about doing away with safety inspections since they seem to be a government cash grab here. I hope it turns out to be much less than $700, and good luck avoiding the authorites until you get the shiny new stickers, lol

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I’m lucky enough to live around 10 minutes away from my job, so if I play my cards right I generally only fill up every other week, and if I really don’t go anywhere, I can get away with once a month every now and then.

          Oh wow really? I always assumed inspections were to weed out the vehicles that were really unsafe for the road. I know emissions is to attempt to keep down pollution, but that’s a state by state thing.

          I was able to drop it off tonight since I’m off work tomorrow. I’m glad I avoided any trouble especially since the dealership did replace one of the stickers with a recent one, so I had one for 12/17 and one for 11/17 ugh. Sticks out like a sore thumb. The mechanic had quoted me the $700 last time I’d brought the car in, but I figured since I had a warranty, I’d get it fixed by the dealership. Even the guys there were confused that the bumper to bumper warranty didn’t cover the exhaust *fuming* Well…that was an unexpected pun o.O

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I’m lucky enough to be able to walk to work, even though it takes 40 minutes one way, lol. I use a tank of gas a month! It’s very helpful to my video game budget.

            We are required to have them every two years here. They did one of those expensive government studies to say there was no proof that having safety inspections actually improved road safety. *shrugs*

            Unexpected puns are usually the most epic! 😀 Thanks for the laugh. I needed it…

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Do you walk even in the middle of winter? That’s dedication! I used to walk to work about a decade ago before I had my first car. It was a bit of a hike, but I was happy I was able to do so, and I could usually get a ride back home especially if it was after dark. Not using gas saves so much money, and that video game budget is important!

              I aim to please :p

              Liked by 1 person

              1. I will walk through literally ANY condition. I’m really stubborn so once I set my mind on something, absolutely nothing can get in my way. Just like a certain badass I look up to, hehe. My coworkers have given up offering me drives that I kept politely refusing, lol. I bought a pair of snow shoes and used them to get to work one day last winter. It was during a big blizzard and the sidewalks were covered in knee deep snow. I was exhausted but quite proud of myself when I completed the trek. Unfortunately, my boss didn’t make it into work that day to see what a dedicated employee I am 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

                1. I’m a Taurus so in my world there’s absolutely nothing wrong with being stubborn about the right things! Do you at least takes rides if it’s a blizzard? I’m hoping your work would be closed during really bad weather! I remember coming into work during a bad storm (we can work from home, but for some reason I decided to go in), and I ended up helping a guy who was stranded in the snow while everyone else just drove by. I felt so bad for him. I wound up getting his car unstuck and giving him some tips on how to get better traction. He had no idea you could manually drop the gear to 1 or 2 (a lot of people don’t realize that!), so I showed how after turning his car around. My job was totally deserted and really quiet. I got so much work done that day lol.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. I’m a Capricorn, so I think I am suppose to be really stubborn, hehe. I haven’t met a snowstorm yet that I couldn’t conquer by walking home in it. You saw the one I walked home through today via “The Twit”. The snow was mid-calf deep on the sidewalk but I made it the whole 3.6 km. Then I dug out my car, and drove it to my hair appointment like a champion, lol My car got stuck briefly on a hill on the way back, but I managed to get free and go home. I’m ready for spring now! And also a nap…:) But yeah, if I had to, I could take a bus or taxi home.

                    That was really nice of you to help out that guy! It’s sad that so many people just wouldn’t bother… My work never closes since we have a customer care department that needs to always be staffed. We can use vacation days if we feel it is unsafe to go into work though. They just want us to make a “best effort” to get in. I can say I certainly do 🙂 I get a lot more work done too when I’m one of the few people who get in.

                    I think it’s a Canadian pride thing. Some of us just like to show winter who’s boss! 🙂

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Living where you do you must get lost of practice driving in the snow hehe. I don’t know it’s possible, but every year, people seem to forget how to do it. The one thing that terrifies yet amuses me are the SUV drivers who believe their invincible because they have an SUV/AWD as if suddenly they can now defy the laws of physics. I’m saying this and I have an SUV lol. Gravity still works and I still take my time. You’re less likely to get stuck, and I can and have driven over three feet of snow, but if you’re speeding and try to stop, you’re not going to stop. I’ve actually noticed I tend to slip and slide more when I turn. I think it has to do with the car’s center of gravity being higher. I’m not exactly sure, but I can see a difference.

                      Well you’re just taking after your role model Lightning. I seriously doubt she’d let a little snow (ha pun!) stop her from anything let along a hair appointment for those glorious pink locks.

                      He was just spinning his wheels and was so desperate. Thankfully he didn’t live too far away so I hope he got home alright. He decided to just head that direction instead of going to work, which I thought was a good idea.

                      My job closed for two days during hurricane Sandy, and it was so bad that we didn’t even get the information from the NSCC (I do investment banking) so it was a gigantic mess. We can work from home if the weather’s really bad, but the office usually remains open, and if you can’t get in you can use an absence. Thankfully my boss isn’t the type of person to give you a hard time if you can’t come in due to a blizzard.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Yep, way TOO much practice. My little Cobalt is actually horrible in the snow, it slides around a lot, but I’ve learned how to work with it. Those foolish SUV people who think they are invincible always fly by me on snow covered highways, and it always scares me! I was never good at Physics, but your theory on the car’s center of gravity sounds logical.

                      OMG! A FFXIII pun 😀 You’re awesome! She kicks so much ass and never has a hair out of place… I’m so jealous, lol.

                      I remember hearing about how awful Sandy was… When you have an understanding boss it makes working life so much easier.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. I think we might be getting some snow this weekend. They treated the roads with that saline stuff and the jazzercise/dance aerobics class I used to go to all the time was cancelled for tomorrow morning in the wake of it. I’m supposed to go to a potluck/white elephant party at my friends tomorrow. I’m not too worried about it. I’m an SUV driver, but not one of those ridiculous ones. It’s a nice guarantee that I probably won’t get stuck, but we obey the laws of physics in my car :p

                      Why is it Final Fantasy people can do that. Like how the hell does Sephiroth manage to be so bad ass and his hair always looks great! I’m super jelly about this. I made the assessment one time that Final Fantasy in a nutshell is impossibly beautiful people doing epic things. Am I wrong??

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. We have brutally colder than usual temperatures here. Some “Polar vortex” phenomenon. It was – 31 C with the windchill here yesterday! I was still sweating on my way to work since I had so much winter gear on, haha. Good! Physics gets cranky when you ignore it.

                      You have just perfectly summed up every Final Fantasy character, lol.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. We experienced the same thing! It was bitterly cold the last half of last week with temperatures in the teens and twenties (F). You “win” per se with the -31C.

                      Ah so this is hilarious. We had this conversation about Final Fantasy in a nutshell and I found this meme about the same thing 😀 It was a bit more comprehensive. I’ll grab it and send you a Twitter DM. It was pretty amusing for the ones I’ve played, and VII hit was fantastic.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    6. My prize for winning this contest is Frostbite. Yay… 🙂

                      I seen it before I saw this, lol. I put “The Twit” app on my phone so when anyone summons me with the @ symbol thingy or DMs me I see it right away. I usually limit my blogging activities to once a day. I need more of this time thing… I think I’ve complained about that to you enough already though.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    7. I check WordPress and therefore my comments every other weekday and on Saturday and Sunday. I try to scroll through my feed, but I usually just check and reply to comments. Then I check my email on the days I don’t check the comments (and weekends) so I can read through my blog subs and comment on those. I always feel like I’m behind. This past weekend I had to play catch up because I missed a few days of checking subs, so I had a TON of blog posts to read. I wish I had Hermione’s time turner or the Doctor’s tardis or any time machine that might be lying around. I’m not picky!

                      Liked by 1 person

    1. She got back to me! I think it might have been a time zone differential. Even though she’s not normally okay with her work being used online, she okayed it and was grateful that I asked. So many people don’t ask permission before using images, so I think it was refreshing to see that happen. I always try to get permission and give original sources for images if I can find them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

