The State of the Writer: 11/26/16

<–The State of the Writer: 11/19/16          The State of the Writer: 12/3/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 278,815
Prior Word Count: 278,742
Word Difference: +73
Status: Editing
Progress: First edit of Chapter 7

Chapter 4 - Blood Dance

You can’t write about someone who’s a known killer without showing them doing some killing.  This has been a rule of mine since my novel.  Granted, the general isn’t slaughter whom he truly wishes to slaughter (mores the pity…I want him to butcher them, too), but in this far better, future world, his seemingly murderous nature serves the purpose of keeping the Whispers safe from monsters and keeping Aeris safe, too.

I just started the first edit yesterday, and I’m quite shocked with how well it’s going.  I must’ve done some adequate editing when I was writing it, because I’ve done very minimal corrections.  I did just start though and prior to plunging in made the observation that the chapter does have a lot in it that may either need to be cut or modified.  Shortly, I shouldn’t rest on my laurels just yet.

I changed the chapter title from “Dark Poetry” to “Dark Promises,” but I still have no idea what I’m going to use for a cover picture.  It’s not going to be the above, since I used that for Northern Lights’ Chapter 4 “Blood Dance,” and I have a personal rule to not repeat the same picture even if it is another work.  I am thinking the image might be in the same vein since the chapter opens with Sephiroth hunting monsters, but like everything, I might still change my mind.  The picture is supposed to capture the essence of the chapter, which I usually figure out before the first edit is done.

Quote: The next part never grew easier.  He was just used to the pain.  The agony of flesh and bone tearing around the black of that wing.  *If I’m going to kill monsters I may as well be one.*  He didn’t need it to fly, but he couldn’t without, nor was it called where eyes lived to see.  The folk of the Whispers knew what he was, but there was no need for them to bear witness. Familiarity had breed fondness, not quite fear and definite respect.  They seemed almost proud of their preternatural mayor whom all still called “general.”


This is the only thing I’m working on?  Good lord it is.  I finished up the Final Fantasy IV and the Magonia review this week.  The FFIV review was  a major project that took up a great deal of my writing time, but now that that’s done, I want to return to working on my “Half a Tragedy” FFVII meta/essay showing the similarities between the game and Greek tragedy, and since I’m just coming off FFIV, I’m thinking of continuing my Character Analysis series with one for Cecil.  I’m still playing through the GBA version of FFIV (interspersed with Dawn of Souls/FFI) so he’s still pretty fresh in my mind.  Eventually, I’m also going to finish up the edit of my original short story The Threads of Sorrow, and of course I want to start on my “Song of VIIs” series, which is my attempt to show the myriad similar themes between Final Fantasy VII and George R R Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire.  A few of them require prerequisite reading (yes, I’m that pretentious) like the Poetic Edda so I can brush up on my Norse mythology, but the first one on my list has to do with missing mothers, dickhead dads, and subsequent lost children.  No additional reading necessary (I say that now).

So because I like bullet point lists, here’s one of upcoming projects:

  • “Half a Tragedy” – an FFVII meta showing the similarities between the game and Greek tragedy
  • Character Analysis: Cecil Harvey
  • The Threads of Sorrow final edit
  • The “Song of VIIs” essay series

What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 11/19/16          The State of the Writer: 12/3/16–>

Save

Save

16 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 11/26/16

  1. I love that picture of Sephiroth! I would be happy seeing it in more places, but I respect your rule. *stares at picture contently for several more minutes*

    My copy of IV should be here next week. I’m going to play it right away so I can read that review ASAP.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to sit down today and do a review of Wake of Vultures. It was surprisingly better than I expected which might be because I wasn’t expecting much. Why did I pick up a book that I wasn’t expecting much from? It had an irresistible allure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish I could find the source on that one, but internet sits can be as fleeting as the lives of mayflies!

    I can’t wait to hear what you think about IV! It’s so funny that most people start really talking about Final Fantasy at VI, though IV has gotten quite a few remakes/remodels. I used to get annoyed because VI was my first and favorite for a while, and I would look for pictures from it, but would mix it up with IV because I’m a little bit weird with number/letter placement. I don’t if that counts as slight dyslexia, but I mix up IV/VI, IX/XI, and since “six” and “seven” start with the same letter sometimes I’ll write one instead of the other. I’m a mess :p

    Liked by 1 person

  4. *stops gazing at picture of Sephiroth to read reply*

    IV is on the way and I’m going to play it as soon as I get it! I bought it from a seller in Kentucky so it has to cross that slow border of ours. Ironically, it’s usually the cheaper option to buy from eBay sellers in the US rather than in my own country, lol I mix things up like that all the time. A coworker of mine called it “lysdexia” The truth: I learned Roman Numerals from Final Fantasy titles growing up. See, video games can teach lots of real life skills!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s so hard to not look at him. I guess it’s good he doesn’t really exist…and that whole manipulated megalomania thing, but I could work with that!

    Huh that’s so interesting! Even with the shipping fees? I wonder why it’s so slow to ship across the border. I bought my husband a pair of sneakers that shipped from China, and that took about six weeks, but I always assumed that was a distance thing.

    I actually learned Roman numerals in school, but you’re not the first person to tell me they learned them from Final Fantasy! I learned the word “nefarious” from FFVI and studied Jewish mysticism because of FFVII so video games can DEFINITELY teach you things. Oh, and I also would never have researched “Advent” if not for FFVII/Advent Children either!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh for sure. Megalomania is just a minor flaw.

    Yeah, it’s weird! I always search by “lowest price plus shipping” and 9 times out of 10 it’s a US seller. I blame a slow customs clearance process for the delays, but I’m not sure what the real reason is. I’ve had stuff arrive from Japan much quicker than anything I bought in the US *shrugs*

    They never taught us those in school for some reason. FF and that episode of the Simpsons where Bart has to choose the right non-tiger-containing door taught me them. Video games taught me to read too! Little kid me wanted to know what the dialog was in Yoshi’s Island on the SNES, lol

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That is so weird. There’s probably some holdup that has to do with border laws or something like that. It more than likely got worse after 9/11 to make sure no hazardous substances were coming into the country ugh.

    I remember that episode! I forget what channel it was, but over the Thanksgiving holiday they did a marathon where they showed all 600 episodes. I forget when I stopped watching, but I, too, was obsessed with the Simpsons in high school. It used to come on back to back on Fox and I’d record it so I could watch it later…on VHS (dating myself). I’d love to find those tapes now, though I don’t think I have a VCR to play them, hm.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m a 90s kid, so yes, I did have one of those VHS things. I also recorded the Simpsons episodes, lol. I even wrote episode summaries on little index cards… Oh I just remembered cassette tapes *shakes cane*

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yasss! See you were way more organized then me. I’d have to pop a tape in to see what was on it. I still have some cassettes! I need to figure out how to transfer the music to a digital medium. If I had one of those old stereos, I could put it onto a CD and then rip the music from there. Kids these day…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh no! If it got really tangled, there wasn’t much you could do. I had tapes that I was able to rewind, but they were crumpled and the music would be distorted at that part. I remember when CDs became the next technology, and I bought blank ones to convert my old cassettes to that. Then there were the mix CDs. Oh man, this is bringing me back to high school!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

