The State of the Writer: 11/12/16

<–The State of the Writer: 11/5/16          The State of the Writer: 11/19/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 278,505
Prior Word Count: 278,983
Word Difference: -478
Status: Editing
Progress: Posting to various social media & preparing to third edit and post Chapter 6

Sephy. by Eeveetachi
Sephy. by Eeveetachi

Sephiroth is sadly waiting.

This has been a rough week of both global and personal setbacks, one bleeding from the other and covering us all.  I did manage to post all five completed chapters on tumblr; I’d put them on AO3 the same night as here (WP), but I still need to update them on Deviant Art.  I may try to do that tonight.

Chapter 6 should be triple edited and posted by the end of this week, and then I’ll set my sights on Chapter 7.

Quote: “Gentle master…you’re so gentle.  You’re so gentle with me…”  Soft bangs brushed her face as he cupped her cheek now.

“What else could I be with you, little flower?  You deserve gentleness.”

“I love it, master.  Please never stop.  Please don’t ever be rough!”

“I will never be rough with you, my Aeris,” the Great General vowed once more.  He’d say it as many times as she needed and never grow cross at repeat.

“Please don’t hurt me with your real strength!” The little maid cried as she cowered.

“What’s this, Aeris?” He held his charge closer as dusk spilled its gold on the sea.  “My ‘real’ strength?”

“The kind that can turn bone to pulp, greatest master.  Please don’t do that to me!”  She looked up in terror, begging this grace, and every tear stained his torn soul.  “Don’t crush my wrists.  I know you could.  Your power is immense!”

“Oh, little rose.”  Sephiroth shook his head.  “Now I see what you mean.  That strength is for you.  It’ll never be used to bring you harm.”  *Never more again…*


Project: Review
Title: Final Fantasy Friday: Final Fantasy IV Review
Subject: Review and analysis of Final Fantasy IV
Current Word Count: 9966
Prior Word Count: 7781
Word Difference:  +2185
Status: In progress
Progress: Drafting Story section

Cecil Harvey by RobasArel
Cecil Harvey by RobasArel

I’m nearing the end of the Story section of this review with the next part being Story Analysis.  Now, I’ve done a bit of that as I summarize, but the following section will really get to the meat of the narrative.  After that Music and Ratings.

I’ll be working on this tonight and hoping I can finish it up this week.


What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 11/5/16          The State of the Writer: 11/19/16–>

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 11/12/16

Leave a Reply

