The State of the Gamer: 9/20/16

The State of the Gamer: 9/27/16–>

A weekly post updated every Tuesday detailing my current gaming projects.  I have quite a backlog of games to either play or watch, and I’m hoping a weekly article will assist with my progress as my other accountable posts have done with reading and writing.
I have an account at Grouvee, which is a essentially Goodreads for gamers, so please feel free to friend me there!
Original source of the banner art is located here.

I’ve been thinking about doing a State of the Gamer weekly post for a while, but it was the latest article from my friend Lightning Night Nova over at her blog Conquering the Gaming Backlog that made me take action (I also have to give credit to Cheap Boss Attack.  His weekend gaming posts certainly gave me some impetus for this, too!).  At the end of her post, she discusses her game progress, and it solidified for me how much my other State posts have helped me make significant progress on various projects.  I have quite a gaming backlog myself, and I feel it’s the most neglected of my projects.  I do attempt to play on the weekends, but writing and reading take up most of my time.  In doing a weekly post, I’ll be held more accountable, and this will hopefully push me to making some progress with my gaming.

Games Finished Playing This Week: 0

Game Currently Playing

Title: Final Fantasy IV
Series: Final Fantasy
Genre: RPG – Fantasy
Developer: Square
Original Platform: SNES
Original Release Date: July 19, 1991
Date Started: Unknown

final-fantasy-iv

I’ve stated before I’ve undertaken my Great Final Fantasy Play/Replay Project where I intend to play all of them (up a particular point), after each writing up a review/analysis.  I’m currently on Final Fantasy IV, and not only that, I’m currently near the end of FFIV.  It’s only been over a year…but I am finally in the Lunar Core on my way to the final showdown.

lunar-core

I’m playing the original version of the game as made for the PS, and I’m playing it on a PS2.  It’s a bit confusing when you have these older games that have been reformatted for later systems, but still in their original versions.  I have played the PSP version, but not the DS one.  As I did with the earlier Final Fantasies I think I’m going to go through all of the original numbered ones first before going back to play other iterations.

I have currently defeated Plague (or Plague Horror.  Also known as Ahriman in the PSP version) followed by the two Lunasauruses in the Lunar Core to obtain Kain’s Holy Lance and two ribbons for Rosa and Rydia respectively.

plague

Plague is annoying because he casts Death on all of your characters at once, which starts a countdown to the inevitable, and I’m not fond of the strategy given in the GameFAQs guide I used though it has been mostly invaluable.  Apparently, if you just keep hitting “A,” your characters won’t die.  This wouldn’t work for me, so I thought of a better tactic.  You go into battle with one of your characters already fallen and have Rosa revive them using Life 2.  Once they’re revived, Plague will cast Death again on everyone, which restarts the timer.  You can just have Rosa revive characters as they fall, and Plague will dutifully recast Death and reset the death clock.  Your other characters can attack and send him to his much deserved demise.

lunasauruses

I kind of fudged the Lunasaurus (x 2) fight, but still managed to succeed.  According to the guide, you’re supposed to cast Wall (Reflect) on three characters.  That way when they cast Bad Breath, it bounces off and renders them helpless with the status affects meant for your.  Since Rosa is one of my slowest characters I only managed to cast Wall on her so only one Lunasaurus was affected.  If I’d gotten just one more spell off, I’m assuming it would’ve hit them both.  Either way, I still kicked ass.

Finally, I won the Ragnarok sword for Cecil after defeating Dark Bahamut who is surprisingly far easier to defeat than just plain old Bahamut.

dark-bahamut

The original summon king counts down from 5 before blasting your characters with Mega Flare for 4000-5000 points of damage.  D. Bahamut only attacks with Mega Flare at the start of the battle and won’t use it again unless you call on Bahamut for his Mega Flare attack.  For his regular attacks he casts reflect on himself and bounces (regular) Flare attacks off to hit one of your characters.  This is only terrible if you can’t heal yourself from his opening Mega Flare attack otherwise this fight is pretty easy.

The only thing I have left to do is the end so here’s to hoping I can accomplish that this weekend.  Afterwards is my intensive and extensive review/analysis of the game.  I’m debating whether or not I’ll start FFV while in the midst of that or stick to my rule of “doing my homework” before I continue to play.


Games Finished Watching This Week: 0

Game Currently Watching

Title: The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks
Series: The Legend of Zelda
Genre: Action/Adventure/Puzzle – Fantasy
Developer: Nintendo
Original Platform: Nintendo DS
Original Release Date: December 7, 2009
Let’s Player: Olizandri
Date Started: Unknown

legend-of-zelda-the-spirit-tracks

I first discovered the world of Let’s Plays when I went searching for one for FaxanaduPrior to this I’d only found a silent play through of Kid Icarus, and I purposely watched that since I detested the idea of listening to anyone talk while I immersed myself in the gaming action.  It turns out I just needed to find the right kind of person, and Odinspack33 was perfect for my first “talking” play through (I also later found a great one for Kid Icarus by NintendoCapriSun who’s still one of my favorite Let’s Players).  To date, I’m not sure how many LPs I’ve watched, but I can honestly say there’s only one person I stopped following for various reasons (no names here since I don’t want this to be anywhere near to a bashing blog though if you shoot me a message through my About page I’ll tell you who and why through email).

I loved watching people play video games growing up as much as I loved playing myself.  In fact some games I much prefer watching, and the Zelda series is one of them.  I’m okay at playing it, absolutely love A Link to the Past Ocarina of Time, and Majora’s Mask is my favorite of the series (it’s literally described on the wiki as the “oddest, darkest, and saddest”), but I’m much more of a strategist/puzzle solver.  This is the reason I much prefer turn based RPGs like Final Fantasy (…or what FF used to be.  Whatever, this isn’t supposed to be a rant post), but I greatly enjoy watching games like Zelda unfold.

So it was to my profound delight that I discovered Olizandri’s YouTube page only a couple of weeks ago, and I immediately dove into his Let’s Play of Phantom Hourglass, which I didn’t know came before Spirit Tracks, the game I’m currently on.

He’s a super, upbeat English guy (wasn’t I just talking about the English accent?) who’s pretty amazing at voice acting to boot.  I especially love his “old man” voice, but I also appreciate him reading all of the lines of dialogue.  Watching Let’s Players for so many years has made me want to try my hand at it, and viewing expert ones is guiding me to what I want to do with mine (if I ever get to it).  I already read the dialogue in Final Fantasy games, and I tend to do voices, too.  I definitely like when LPers read it, and I want to emulate that.  I think it makes the watcher far more engaged in the game, and one rule I’ve heard all LPers state is you always want to keep talking.

While I wouldn’t feel right fully rating a game I didn’t play at all myself, I can at least watch it for its story and take the Let’s Player’s point of view on the game play/mechanics into account.

Olizandri has also done Final Fantasy XIII, huzzah!  This means I may finally be able to watch that if I don’t have time to play it first.  I’m still strictly going in order with the FFs, and I’m only just about to finish IV, so it may be a long time until I get there, but it’s good to know I have options when I do.


What are you currently playing and/or watching? Is it something new or old?  Is it a first time run or a replay?  What’s the genre?  Would you recommend it?  What’s on your radar to play next?

I look forward to your comments!

The State of the Gamer: 9/27/16–>

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

11 thoughts on “The State of the Gamer: 9/20/16

      1. Just research what games are available and decide if there are enough titles to justify a purchase. I love niche Japanese games so the Vita is one of my most played gaming systems. The majority however say that the Vita has been dead since launch and has no new games coming out for it.

        You could also buy a PlayStation TV for very little to play handheld games on it. I haven’t risked it however, as it can be a pain deciphering what releases are compatible with it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Aw, thank you so much for the shout out! 🙂

    Yet another Final Fantasy game I need to play. I liked Spirit Tracks, but overall I found the game too easy. The last boss was quite a fun challenge for me though. I’m pretty sure you already know my opinion on FFXIII, haha

    I managed to slip in a few more hours of ReCore. It’s almost impossible for me to find time to play games during the week thanks to my day job thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Certainly! It was after that post that I solidified my idea to do a State of the Gamer so I had to give credit to my inspiration ♥ Of course that means I now have five weekly posts to keep track of o.O Why do I do this to myself?

      Did you play Phantom Hourglass, the prequel to it? They seem to have similar mechanics. Spirit Tracks is cute. I didn’t like the Windwaker type graphics at first, but they’ve definitely grown on me.

      Stupid jobs getting in the way of what’s important *grumble*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Excellent! My master plan to make people game more is working *evil laugh*

        Yes, I played Phantom Hourglass too. They are really similar and I have the same minor complaint with that game. Just before Wind Waker came out, I was very skeptical about the direction they were going with the graphics. Turns out my fears were unwarranted. They did such an amazing job utilizing the cute cell shaded style. I think you’ve mentioned it before, but the Redeads are still horrifying in that animated fashion, lol

        I keep telling myself without the job thing, I wouldn’t be able to afford the gaming thing. I just want to win the lottery and sit in my mansion playing games and writing all day! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. People should game more! I will rally for this. I just love Legend of Zelda even though Final Fantasy will always have my true heart. I grew up playing/watching Zelda, too, and in all honesty I feel like that Zelda franchise is doing more to keep their longtime fans interested than the FF one, mores the pity :\

        Ugh I totally agree. The job funds my writing until and unless I can finally make a living doing that. I just want to sit in a giant beanbag chair, petting my cats, playing games, and writing about how everything connects! D: It would be soooo productive, because I’d be providing thought provoking discussion and discourse to the world lol.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just started playing the 3DS remake of Dragon Quest VII, having never experienced the original. It’s fun so far, but DQ is still no Final Fantasy for me. Final Fantasy IV is a great choice to be replaying!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do love Dragon Quest! It think DQ may have been my first RPG if I’m not mistaken. I didn’t play Final Fantasy until the illustrious VI (then III for the SNES) came out in 1994 (I think I’m right about that date), so DQ was my introduction to the series. I enjoyed it and would love to try the other iterations!

      IV Is so good…so good. I’m finally almost done. I wish I’d put the date I’d started so I could be ashamed of how long it’s taken me to complete it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

