The State of the Writer: 9/17/16

<–The State of the Writer: 9/10/16          The State of the Writer: 9/24/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 278,963
Prior Word Count: 277,651
Word Difference: +1312
Status: Editing
Progress: 1st Edit of Chapter 4

split-staircase

The picture is actually more connected to Chapter 3, but I really haven’t found much for Chapter 4 yet.  I’m still looking for an image for the chapter itself.  The stairs aren’t exactly as I envision them in my head either, but the fanciness and the chandelier are fairly equivalent.  In the story, the split happens after a single set of marble steps that lead to an opulent landing.  Pictures of that setup were sadly lacking though I found plenty of the opposite where two stairs converged into one.  I like the image above though as it fits with how I envision the second floor sort of balcony layout leading to more rooms and halls.  If I can’t afford opulence in my real life, I’ll damn sure write about it!

Last week Chapter 4 was in progress.  I manged to finish writing it and do the third edit of Chapter 3, which I stalled on in order to make sure it would flow nicely into 4.  I’m in the midst of Chapter 4’s edit right now.  I’m still hoping to finish that before the end of this weekend since Monday is when I return to work.

Quote: Sephiroth stopped before the set table.  Turned his head with tightly sealed eyes.  The general feared nothing except for his darkness, save corruption that lived in that light.  It could burn down the world and once nearly did, but now he was in control.  They could not be dormant, those alien cells.  They were part of him, bound to his blood.  That entity eldritch though no longer ruled.  Its destruction had been long assured.  The cells that existed no more felt the pull for there was no horror to draw them.  And yet the Great General never lost fear for in his heart now was dark fire.  To hear the last Ancient, the one he had killed, whose death would not cease from his soul, to hear her say men whom she’d died to save had done this turned him to a monster.  A nightmare to stalk those crumbling slums where laughter would drown in raw screams.


Project: Story
Title:
The Threads of Sorrow
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Retold Fairy Tale
Type: Original Short Story
Prior Word Count: 6787
Current Word Count: 6787
Word Difference: 0
Status: Critiques received
Progress: Need to review critiques

I looked over a few critiques in the beginning, but I can’t say I’ve made any progress on this story.  I’m hoping to get back in the swing of things soon.  The second edit still needs to happen with the critiques received in mind.  I really wanted to write the new Chapter 4.  I suppose it must be odd to people that I’d spend more time on a fanfiction that will get me nowhere rather than an original story that might, but I’ve never been one to only look at it like that.  While I obviously can’t do anything with the fanfiction in terms of “legitimate” publishing, that doesn’t mean the message in it isn’t important.  Plus it’s not like I’ve had much luck with “legitimate” publishing anyway.


Project: Vacation Essays
Genre: Various
Status: In Progress

Completed:

I attempted to work on my Half a Tragedy FFVII comparative post, but when I sat down to write it, I drew a complete blank on how to begin.  I worked on an outline yesterday though so hopefully in the coming weeks, I’ll have something to show for it.

I didn’t work on the “Wide Awake” slideshow.  I was just…too tired to try to look for images for the words.  I also kind of want to transition to making AMVs, which is another kind of challenge.

No character analyses happened either.  I really feel like this year I accomplished much less on vacation, but then again last year I only really worked on my Editing Notes posts.  This year I tried to get out a variety of articles, and I’m still dealing with this chronic fatigue and dizziness, which I’m attempting to define (we’re not going to get into my horrible endocrinologist appointment right now.  Maybe in another post).

Oh, and I managed to finish a decade long reading of The Mystical Qabalah and post a review.


What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 9/10/16          The State of the Writer: 9/24/16–>

Save

12 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 9/17/16

  1. If I had a sweet house like that in real life, I would hope I could afford a cleaning staff to keep it nice and shiny, lol

    It’s easier to write about something you’re passionate about. Fanfictions are inspired by other stories so I can see why it would be more entertaining to work on that than an original piece. As you’ve told me many times, legitimate publishing is a cruel business. All a writer needs is a supportive community, and a dream about becoming a published author someday.

    Good luck with returning to work. I always hate the first day back to the grind after a long period of doing whatever I want.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve actually been thinking about that for this story, because I never mention it! I think I’m going to go with the “it’s the future so yeah future stuff” for an explanation. Honestly, looking up the fancy dream houses is the best part. I want to update Northern Lights because it was after I finished and posted it that I realized I wanted their house to have a name, which it does here.

      I think it’s also the control factor, too. Like even though I can’t officially publish it, I still have control over getting it out there, though apparently that little book that comes with Advent Children about Aeris was written by someone not Squeenix, but the company picked it up, so yeah it was a fanfic! I severely doubt they’d have any interest in Northern Lights since it eradicates any ideas of Sephiroth as the main villain though…it’s not like they haven’t done that before with villains or made you question who the real villain was. Ah my pipe dreams :p

      The worst part about the cruelty is that it’s not even meant to be cruel. It’s just business. Somehow that’s worse. Like if they were deliberately being cruel you could chalk it up to bullying, but it’s just the way it is. They take what they think they can sell, so you pretty much are left thinking that all your work isn’t worth anyone’s time. It’s heart breaking, but like I’ve said, they may be able to stop you from being published (with them), but they can’t stop you from writing.

      I’m happy I have a job to go back to and I job I don’t’ detest, but I wish I had more time and/or energy to work on writing/blogging. Though even with the two week vacation, I didn’t get to any essays at least not the writing part. Oh well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess business in general is just a cold process. Money trumps compassion.

        I also enjoy my day job and totally agree! It tends to eat up my preferred writing and gaming time. I’m also so tired after work days that I can’t focus on my hobbies like I want to.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve made a silly rule for myself in order to cure my sleep robbing coffee addiction. I only allow myself to have coffee 3 days a week (Friday,Saturday, and Sunday). My coworkers love teasing me, but I found it cured my anxiety/sleeplessness.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I was a rabid coffee fiend before I started this rule. It was very hard at first. I’ll never forget those crippling caffeine withdrawal headaches/miserable feelings. Now I just drink coffee as a treat on the weekends, and its no longer something I need to get through the day.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’m sitting here sipping my black as sin coffee right now hehe. But it’s Friday and I have a lot to catch up on and nothing to do tomorrow. My car is in the shop, and my husband is going to a bowling thingy so I’ll be carless and stuck in the house 🙂

        In all seriousness, I should do a caffeine detox. I have given it up before, and goodness it is difficult. I’ll need to drink a lot of water to stave off the headaches. It’s the staying awake I’m most worried about, but worthwhile things are never easy.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I take my delicious coffee black as well. I’m drinking some right now! Another added bonus of only consuming the invigorating beverage 3 times a week is the amazing state of euphoria I get when I consume the first cup, lol 🙂 I immediately thought of the Pin Pals from The Simpsons when you said your husband was going bowling. I think the new season starts soon so I’m going to try getting back into the show.

        I’m by no means an expert on the subject, but from what I’ve read, caffeine disturbs the state of deep sleep where we dream. On my off days, I find I sleep through the night better and have several dreams. On coffee days, I don’t recall having any dreams at all in the morning.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

