Question of the Week: 8/28/16

<–Question of the Week: 8/21/16          Question of the Week: 9/4/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

Who is your favorite non-villain character?

I had to give the caveat of “non-villain” character as opposed to just saying “favorite superhero,” because my favorite character is a villain, my favorite superhero is a captain, but my favorite non-villain character without question or argument (whom I like better than the favorite superhero) is Captain Picard.

I can’t believe I’ve had this blog for nearly two years, and I haven’t yet gushed about my love for Captain Picard.  TNG was my introduction into the Star Trek universe though I had seen episodes of TOS when I was younger.  At the risk of inciting any flame wars for Kirk fans, I’m just going to say that Picard is not only my favorite captain, but I think he’s one of the best.  He’s the most noble person to ever exist, and while we can argue to the Delta Quadrant and back over who broke the Prime Directive more, Picard always did it with only the best intentions in mind (as in the episode “Pen Pals,” which always makes me cry) or when there was no other choice and/or to better a worsening situation (as in the episode “Who Watches the Watchers“).  Additionally, his philosophy and speeches should be studied and noted by anyone seeking a position of leadership and power, nor was he ever afraid to defy those in higher positions to protect the rights of others.

While Picard could be harsh, he was always fair, erred on the side of both logic and reason, but also compassion and doing what’s right   I cannot watch the episode “The Inner Light” without a week’s preparation, and I know I’m always going to cry, because anything about memory and loss pierce me to the core.

I can’t talk about Captain Picard without lauding the magnificent actor who plays him, Patrick Stewart, who is totally and literally a sir (yassss Sir Patrick!).  Similar to the character he plays, he believes in fairness and equality, and due to early exposure of domestic violence, he does work with Amnesty International.

Also his bromance with equally magnificent Sir Ian McKellan is delightful.

I want them on my team for the apocalypse

Who is your favorite non-villain character?  The can be a superhero; I just made that caveat just in case they aren’t.

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

<–Question of the Week: 8/21/16          Question of the Week: 9/4/16–>

Save

Save

Save

14 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 8/28/16

    1. Another wonderful person gone too soon. How sad is it that you replied to this prior to the news of Gene Wilder’s death, but I’m not getting back to it until after 😦

      Professor Snape was so much of a hero that no one might have ever known he was a hero. THAT’S how true he was to the act. Granted, he wasn’t perfect and his reasons for doing it might have been considered selfish, but it doesn’t matter; he did it anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I feel like there are a lot of good non-villain characters to choose from and I’m sleepy so I can’t think of anyone off hand.
    So I’ll talk Trek instead, I am firmly a Star Wars fan BUT I have no issues with Star Trek. In fact, my dad was a single parent and one of my favorite tv time memories is watching TNG with him. Other than that, there was Home Improvement and Bloodsport or any Van Dam movie was one frequently lol.
    Oh oh! I will go with Wilson from Home Improvement, for old times sake lol.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I was a Trekkie first, but the latest Star Wars has put me pretty firmly in that fandom. I love VII and need to catch up on Clone Wars then watch Rebels. I understand the war between them about as much as I understand console wars or the iPhone vs. Android debate. Um, both can be good. I think there’s a LOTR vs. Star Wars, too, which makes no damn sense whatsoever.

      Wilson was always a good neighbor and a fount of much needed wisdom for the often perplexed Tim lol. You can’t go wrong with the mysterious faceless soothsayer dispensing wisdom.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Picard is, was, and forever will be my favorite, and IMO the best, Trek captain. While I have so many beloved characters, if forced to choose one non-villainous example I would say Gandalf. His exchange with Frodo on those deserving of death and life has saved my sanity, and likely the lives of people, more times than I can count.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I want to live my life in a way that Captain Picard will be proud of me. He’s like the pinnacle of what we as humanity could be. He’s not perfect in the least, but he recognizes his imperfections and biases (side note I LOVE his relationship dynamic with Data), and he works to improve them. I think he’s the best captain, too, and even if I’d really watched TOS, I think I’d have this same assessment. I’ve seen DS9 and Voyager and I like Sisco and Janeway well enough; they have their good qualities, but Captain Picard will always be my captain, and they couldn’t have found a better actor to play him. The speeches that he gives were made to be delivered by Sir Patrick.

      Well I mean Sir Ian and Sir Patrick are BFFs so of course Gandalf is an excellent choice! I remember that line quite often. There’s another one he says about the “nameless things that gnaw,” and how “Sauron knows them now.” It’s one of those seriously chilling lines in LOTR, and even if you go to the wiki there isn’t much information. I think Gandalf and Picard would get along famously.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Picard, and Sir Patrick, are awesome! I watched TNG a lot when I was a kid. I remember crying to my mom that time he got turned into a Borg, lol. Patrick Stewart has such an iconic voice.

    Other than the obvious FFXIII character, mine is Homer Simpson. The sarcastic doughnut munching patriarch of my favourite messed up animated family. I grew up watching the Simpsons, and I blame Homer specifically for turning me into the sarcastic smartass I am today. In school I always found a way to incorporate him into my assignments, which usually amused my teachers enough to give me bonus points.

    Some of his humorous life quotes have also helped me through some difficult times.

    “Kids, you tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.”

    “If you really want something in this life you have to work for it. Now quiet, they’re about to announce the lottery numbers.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup TNG was what I grew up on! I can’t believe it was nearly 30 years ago, but the morals in it are still valid today. Timeless.

      I was obsessed with the Simpsons in high school even before I obtained my full blown FFVII obsession. I would quote them so much that my friends threatened to murder me, and one of them made a bet with me that I couldn’t not talk about the Simpsons for an entire day. I lost immediately. I’ve always been obsessive about something.

      What’s your opinion about the Simpsons now? I can’t believe a TV show is older than some of my friends!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Simpsons was my very first obsession. My friends were also bombarded with constant quotes from the show, lol.

    Sadly, I stopped watching a few seasons ago. I liked the newer ones. It’s just that I find they lack the “magic” the older episodes had. It’s impressive how the writers have come up with so many plots to keep this show going!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I can understand that. Well it’s like anything that goes on for too long even our beloved Final Fantasy. If you don’t reinvent and/or try a new angle it gets stagnant. Zelda seems to have avoided that trap though even while remembering their foundation. It’s a tricky maneuver to accomplish!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

