The State of the Writer: 8/27/16

<–The State of the Writer: 8/20/16          The State of the Writer: 9/3/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 272,761
Prior Word Count: 273,620
Word Difference: -852
Status: Editing
Progress: 2nd edit of Chapter 3

House By the Sea

I’m honestly can’t believe I haven’t used the above picture yet.  It’s almost exactly how I picture the house save for some minor details.  There’s no garage; it faces the sea; and the staircase is slightly different, being split at the top not at a lower landing, but the extensive veranda is dead on, and the luxury is exquisite, though I would not want to have Aeris’s history in this story in order to live here.

The little Cetra gets a brief glimpse of where she now resides, but there’s a much better one in Chapter 5 where she (and the readers) also find out the name of the estate.  When I do my (hopefully) light reedit of Northern Lights, I’m going to use the same name for their abode.  It’s…sad but fitting, and Sephiroth finds it achingly ironic.

I’m making good progress on the second edit.  I was worried it was going to be tedious and nitpicky as the first, but I only had some trouble with the initial paragraph or so.  I’ve mostly been doing a read through with minor edits, which is what I wish all editing could be.  Granted I haven’t yet reached the part where I’ve done extensive additions, so I’ll have to get back to you when I do.

This chapter amps up the sweetness even amongst the heartache.  At the end of it since Aeris is completely bereft of clothing, Sephiroth orders her a multitude of them in addition to jewelry and shoes.  I debated using a picture of the former, but there will be plenty of time for that when it arrives.

Quote: “Her coloring?  Fairer than the mist with the first blush of dawn on her cheeks.  She resembles a tiny porcelain doll with large, deep, summer blessed eyes.  Her hair is chestnut waves down to her knees with bangs similar to mine.  Yes, she’s lovely, beyond so.  Beautiful’s the word I would use.”


Project: Story
Title:
The Threads of Sorrow
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Retold Fairy Tale
Type: Original Short Story
Prior Word Count: 6887
Current Word Count: 6825
Word Difference: -42
Status: Editing
Progress: First Edit 5/6 Complete

I only edited one page last week, and I’m not sure I’m going to get to this tonight.  Since I went to my friend’s book signing, I’m exhausted as is the case whenever I do anything.  I’d need a nap before any editing took place, and I have so much still on my planner to accomplish.  I would love to finish the first edit this weekend, but it may have to happen during my two week vacation, which starts the first full week of September.

I’m also starting to get weird about submitting this for publishing.  That’s all I’m going to say about that for now :\


Project: Book Reviews
Title(s):
Various
Genre:
Fantasy
Status:
Active Progress

I am finished with my book review backlog on here and Goodreads, and I’m currently working on updating all of my reviews on Amazon.  Since I have the reviews written, it’s just a matter or copying, pasting and editing.  I feel the most comfortable sharing personal insights here on WordPress.  I’m okay with it on Goodreads, but for Amazon, I’d rather be cordial and all business so anything personal is omitted.  So I don’t really gush about how my VII Sense got me to read anything there since I’m pretty sure no one who reads reviews on that site would care.  Now if I can show a clear connection with that narrative, I’ll say so, but it’s always so touch and go for me with that, especially considering gamers and readers don’t always overlap (which I don’t get at all, but I’ve noticed it less with RPG players), and even if they do, some tend to compartmentalize the two media as separate worlds.  I believe all narratives are worthy of discourse, and all narratives use motifs, paradigms, and tropes, which can most definitely be shared regardless of how the story is presented.

I need to update A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms, Dreamsongs: Volume I,  and DivergentWith Knight I’m pondering my method.  Do I want to do one large review for the entire volume or break it up into three for each novella?  What do you think?

After this I’ll be up to date on all of my book reviews across the board.


Project: TV Show Review/Analysis
Title: Stranger Things
Genre: Supernatural, Sci-Fi, Horror, Mystery
Status: Planning

I was planning to work on this today, but as mentioned above, I had some friend/writer support to handle.  I’ll see how I feel after my nap, but this may be another thing shuffled off to vacation time.  I may also rewatch it, since I’ve been wanting to do that, as well.

If you haven’t seen it and if you have Netflix, I cannot recommend it highly enough.  If/When you watch it, let me know and we can chat!


Project: Weekly List
Title: Final Fantasy Tarot
Category: Comparative Examination
Status: In Progress

Final Fantasy Tarot
Final Fantasy Tarot

I decided to do this as a series of weekly posts instead of one long one.  It gives me a great excuse to talk about Final Fantasy on a weekly basis in addition to reviving my Final Fantasy Friday post, which I only really do when I either review one of the games, post chapters of a fanfiction, or write an essay.  Since these activities take a lot of preparation and time (considering I’ve been playing FFIV for probably half a year now, and my Heart of Darkness essay took ten years to ruminate/manifest, months to prepare, and two weeks to write), I thought it would be nice to have an FF feature that would allow for nice conversation and education.  The latter was quite a nice surprise as several people have said they don’t know too much about tarot though they are wise in the ways of Final Fantasy.  I did find a now mutual follower, Hermit of the North, who knows both!

Breaking the 22 Major Arcana up into weekly installments will also keep the posts fairly short and easier to digest.  There’s a link to each card’s information on Wikipedia, and I allow any readers to take a guess on whom shall represent the next.  Credit goes to anyone who manages to figure out the game number I’m pulling from or one of the alternates I considered.


Project: Organization
Title: A Song of FFVII
Genre: Fantasy/Sci-Fi
Category: Comparative Essays

As mentioned above I have a two week vacation coming up, and as like last year, I intend to spend most of my days writing.  When I don’t have to work, that’s what I do; it’s truly my second job that I wish was my main.  8-10 hours normally just like I would day employment.

I need to organize the essays and articles I want to work on and post, since I’ve already decided on which ones that will be.  Obviously, I’m going to work on editing both The Threads of Sorrow and The Broken Rose, hopefully finishing up the former.

I moved all the essays I want to work on to a “Vacation” tab in my OneNote app, but soon realized I couldn’t just do that with my notes on A Song of FFVII, which is my series of planned comparative essays for FFVII and ASOIAF, which I’ve discussed quite a few times prior.  I found many common motifs between the two narratives, so many in fact that it will take more than one or even three examinations to talk about them all.  The notes are a mess though.  I have things partially organized, but some information is scattered.  I want to spend the remainder of this weekend and next week organizing them so I can use my vacation time to write at least one essay.  It would be phenomenal if I could have one ready to post on 9/7/16, since that’s the anniversary of Final Fantasy VII’s release in North America.  As always my accomplishing these tasks relies heavily on how my unknown health issues will affect my energy and awareness.


What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 8/20/16          The State of the Writer: 9/3/16–>

Save

Save

22 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 8/27/16

  1. I have to use a day planner and even then I don’t always get everything done! Mostly I try to do enough to give myself the illusion of progress lol.

    Yasss! Let me know what you think when you do. I was hooked right away and may actually rewatch it this week to prep for my sort of review of it next week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So yeah, just watching one episode turned into watching 4 of them, lol.

    Just wow! I got a Resident Evil vibe as soon as I started watching. I love the Resident Evil series so I was hooked instantly. I’ll try to avoid spoilers, but that “thing” reminds me of the Tyrant boss in the original game. (I just finished the episode where they develop a photo of it… Guess Mom isn’t so crazy after all). Unfortunately, I had to pull myself away to work on other things. I can’t wait until I find time to watch Episode 5!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Isn’t it addictive?? I watched two the first night, two the second, and then the rest the third (it was a Friday). I can definitely see a Resident Evil vibe. I love how so many people are connecting it with other stories. *claps hands over mouth to keep the spoilers in*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think they’re planning to! They’re just waiting for Netflix to greenlight the project. Someone told me they want to do like 5-6 seasons! I would be all for that. There are so many questions that still need to be answered I’m hoping I can write that review by this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So the kid who plays Dustin (the little boy missing his top teeth) is a Broadway singer and plays Gavroche from Les Mis! And…he literally has the voice of an angel.

    He’s too good for this world, too pure.

    I was so impressed with that show like beyond what I could’ve expected. Often child actors can come off a bit flaky, but all of the kids in that show are phenomenal while still acting like kids! While this doesn’t bother me, I’ve heard the complaint that YA tends to have what I call “Dawson’s Creek Syndrome” where pre-teens/teenagers act older than their age (my favorite standalone Fault in Our Stars is guilty of this), but Stranger Things can’t even be accused of that!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Neither did I! Les Miserable is my second favorite musical, but I generally prefer the London cast to the Broadway one (I’m a sucker for an English accent, huge anglophile over here hehe) with Phantom of the Opera being first, but it’s VERY close. I love the themes in Les Mis just as much as I love the ones in Phantom. I think what edges the latter out is its more gothic mien, also Eric’s (the Phantom’s) whole raison d’etre in being obsessed with Christine is because she looks exactly like his mother who rejected him so…yeah…that paradigm again. I just find stories with it everywhere though I knew about Phantom long before I ever played FFVII 😉

    My ramblings…definitely let me know what you think when you finish. I have so many questions for that show. Oh! And they announced the second season officially for 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I find your ramblings are entertaining 🙂

    Yay for Season 2! I read a spoiler free review recently that said they left some things unfinished… I have to hurry up and finish it before I accidentally hit a spoiler online somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hooray and thanks! Yes…I know that all too well. I sort of accidentally read a spoiler for the new Harry Potter book, but I’m not too upset about it? I was planning on reading it, but I was a bit wary about its play like structure, not that I have an issue with that (I love Shakespeare and all), but now that i know it’s one less thing I have to read, nor was it overly surprising I suppose.

    Omg there’s so much left unfinished at the end of the first season, and that’s all I’ll say. The spoilers aren’t too bad on the internet, well…they weren’t when I was still watching, but that was some weeks ago, and you know memes and spoilers grow exponentially every day :p

    Liked by 1 person

  9. FFVII was ruined for me before I played it. I knew a certain character was going to get killed by a certain General (the one you’ve made me sympathetic to, haha).

    I finished it last night so I am now immune to spoilers. I didn’t sleep well at all after. My mind was busy thinking about the show, lol. Quite an ending with so many questions up in the air! I must say, after seeing it in action, that “thing” would be right at home in the Resident Evil world. Also not at all shocked about the fate of a certain character…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I avoided spoilers for that probably because it only took a year for me to play it, I had no interest initially, because it looked too sci-fi and I wanted fantasy dammit! But my brother bought me the Eidos PC version for Christmas so I figured I’d give it a try. I was already obsessed with Sephiroth even before playing because of the internet, but spoilers weren’t as prevalent then so I can say that FFVII stands as one of the few times I was legitimately shocked by death in any story (Game of Thrones is another).

    I had nightmares, too after watching that show and I usually don’t like horror, but so many other factors overrode my general fear of that. I want to rewatch it.

    So…I didn’t get to my Stranger Things review, but the relationship between Eleven and Dr. Brenner who was (or she thought was) her father 100% reminded me of Sephiroth and Hojo. The whole “I’m going to experiment on my kid” awfulness. Not only that but she was literally “11” with the tattoo on her wrist. Definitely put me in the mind of the “clones” with their numbers. Also what happened to the other ten. Then the fact that whatever caused her to be special happened in utero and her poor mother thought she was dead and she (the mother) was kind of comatose. One of my other friends said that the demogorgon monster/alien reminded them of Jenova. I hadn’t thought about that, but I definitely got Alien vibes from the show, and the FFVII similarities were super creepy, but I have a long list of other stories it reminded me of. I cannot wait for the second season, and they’ve announced it already! Oh and the fact that it was an energy organization run by the government. I have so much to say about this lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow, I never thought of that… I can definitely see the FFVII connection now. I’m pumped for the second season. I think an army of Elevens being unleashed on the monsters of creepy upside down land would be awesome! I’m kind of worried about what will happen to poor Will next season. That really can’t be good for him…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. It just started creeping up on me as I was watching it. I have what I call the “VII Sense” hehe, which is when a book, movie, or show reminds me of some aspect of FFVII so I like to think of it as my “VII Sense is tingling.” I’m such a nerd hehe. Also…there may be a flashback scene in Northern Lights that’s reminiscent of what Eleven went through, but I’m not giving out too many details :p

    I’m wondering if Will is kind of a key or gateway himself to the upside down! Since he was in there for so long, it looks like he brought part of it back with him. If there were ten other children, there may also be ten other monsters. I can’t wait.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. That sounds like it would make an amazing superpower. I’m looking forward to that part on NL then! I’m on Chp. 13 now.

    He might be. He seems to be able to enter the world now. With all the eggs and creepy slug things in there, I’m sure there is a wide variety of creepy creatures. It seemed like 11 had a connection with the monster. Perhaps each of the other children will have their own creature to deal with.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. It mostly causes annoyance and confusion among my friends lol. They try not to say it, but I can see it on their faces. I always forget that I think about FFVII ALL the time so whenever I see a story with any shared motifs to it like children being used as experiments, I get that tingle, but many people just realize how big of a part of VII that is. It’s a great power for writing essays and posts so I wouldn’t give it up.

    Oh you’re almost at the end of the first part! Chapter 14 is a bit of a tearjerker (if you’re a teary type for sentiment), and at the very least it inspired me to make a slideshow about the two of them *sniff*

    That’s one of the theories I heard! Another and more chilling one (that again ties to VII) is that the upside down might mutate you into a monster. So remember how one of the scientists said the air was toxic? There was a theory that the monster was actually on of number one through ten and had been a child/person that was turned into that. That’s another eerie similarity to how Jenova would mutate people and turn them into monsters. I didn’t want to say a lot about Jen in this because a lot of the things I’d connect with it are still theoretical. I find the same “issue” with A Song of Ice and Fire, because we don’t know everything that’s going to happen, there are a lot of unconfirmed theories. But seeing as Will was coughing up creatures and either flashing back or going back to the upside down, it’s not that farfetched.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

