The State of the Writer: 8/20/16

<–The State of the Writer: 8/13/16          The State of the Writer: 8/27/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 273,620
Prior Word Count: 273,244
Word Difference: +376
Status: Editing
Progress: 1st edit of Chapter 3

Dream House Living Room

There has been a great deal of revision in this portion of the edit, since I’m prepping to add a new chapter.  It’s been equal parts editing, equal parts writing, but I’m happy I’m doing it in the first edit.

The above picture shares similarities to how I imagine the living room, though the view would of course be the sea, and the window is more like a bay.  It’s obviously near impossible to find perfect pictures for the images in my head.  I was trying to locate a good dining room since that’s where I am right now, but I suppose you’ll just have to rely on my descriptive skills…as they are I suppose.

Quote: The great glass lights above ornate steps were now lit like a calm holiday.  Black boots made no sound on their scattered dance in display upon marble veins.  He carried her through the living room that dwelled off the stairs’ right side.  The carpet here looked just as soft to what crinkled her toes in her room. 

Evening was falling behind the bay window that framed his dining room.  Though the kitchen had a table, this was fancier.  *She deserves that,* Sephiroth thought, setting Aeris down.  She sank in soft cushion, her head still a-whirl for the arms were upholstered and soft.  Undoing his coat with the pin back in place, he swung it from broad to frail shoulders.  The Cetra caught her breath to keep back tears for the velvet warmth shielding her now.


Project: Story
Title:
The Threads of Sorrow
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Retold Fairy Tale
Type: Original Short Story
Prior Word Count: 6940
Current Word Count: 6887
Word Difference: +53
Status: Editing
Progress: First Edit 3/4 Complete

I have three more pages left to edit so I’m near the climax of the tale.  I’m starting to get anxious about this, because after I edit and polish it, I’ll have to submit it, and submitting stories sucks.  I just…sucks.  That’s all I can really say about it.  It contorts my stomach like a twisted sheet.  I hate the threat of failure, and it always falls, it always falls, ironically without fail.  My last resort is just posted it here on my own social media, but I would like some validation that I’m a halfway decent writer.  We’ll see what happens.


Project: Book Reviews
Title(s):
Various
Genre:
Fantasy
Status:
Active Progress

I only have one more Unfinished review to complete for Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2).  I’d planned on doing an Unfinished review for The Land of Painted Caves (Earth’s Children #6), but I don’t want to come off as a Negative Nancy with book reviews, and there’s nothing I can say or add to the discourse about Auel’s last effort that hasn’t already been said.  So I’m going to do the last unfinished and concentrate on updating the remaining reviews that need it on Goodreads.


Project: TV Show Review/Analysis
Title: Stranger Things
Genre: Supernatural, Sci-Fi, Horror, Mystery
Status: Planning

Stranger Things is hands down the best show I’ve seen all year.  Holy. Shit.  It’s so good.  I won’t give anything away here, but the analysis I’m planning will be loaded with spoilers, as I intend to talk about all of the narratives it either references or parallels.  If you haven’t had a chance to watch it, I urge you to do so.

I’m hoping to start working on this later today, and posting it, too, if possible.


What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 8/13/16          The State of the Writer: 8/27/16–>

Save

10 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 8/20/16

  1. I wish my living room looked like that! I also wish I was a multimillionaire and could buy a mansion by the sea. I’d be able to play video games and write all I wanted, without worrying about having one of those job things…

    Back to reality, I really do have to make time to see Stranger Things. I’ve been hearing lots of positive reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is the one saving grace in this story! I get to write about fancy, fancy things. It offsets the horrible background of everything that’s never really seen, but is a huge part of the plot. Not going to lie there’s SO much fluff in this story. I’m such a dork for adorable fluff, but Sephiroth still has his “killer instincts” as they were, and they definitely come into play. I’m also a sucker for rescue romance.

      Ugh my pipe dreams involve the same. I would honestly just write, read, and blog all day. I’m hoping one day I’m able to make it as a professional writer in some capacity. Heck I’m already putting in the work as are you. It’s like having a second job you don’t get paid for…yet.

      I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. I’ve heard nothing but good things. Definitely let me know when you watch it! I’d love to know what you think 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I do love living in my pipe dreams and delusions of grandeur, too tee hee.

          I’m currently Netflix-less since I had to cancel my lost debit card; they haven’t sent me a new one yet, and Netflix comes out of that account. Oops.

          If I didn’t use my day planner app to schedule things, I’d get nothing done.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

