Question of the Week: 8/14/16

<–Question of the Week: 8/7/16          Question of the Week: 8/21/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

What genre would you like to write in that you don’t write already?

I currently write paranormal romance in dark fantasy worlds or with heavy dark fantasy influence.  This is weird for me to say since I initially thought I wrote dark fantasy, but since my concentration is mostly on paired characters, calling it para-romance makes much more sense.  I want to go farther down the dark ladder and work in the horror genre, specifically cosmic horror a la Lovecraft (though HP is one of my more problematic faves ugh).  Dark fantasy has touches of horror, broaching the subject of the abyss without going all the way inside.  It often suggests the greater darkness or lays the path to it for the reader, watcher, or player to find if they poke hard enough to shake the deep ones.

Mystery is another genre I want to explore though arguably every story is a mystery.  If they weren’t then we wouldn’t have spoilers :p  At the risk of sounding trite, though, I would like to pen something where the main character is a detective or PI especially since I have an idea for an MC in mind who is (hopefully) not cliched.  I should get bonus points since one of my planned mysteries is also a cosmic horror story.  I just don’t know what the mind melting reveal will be…yet.


What genre would you love to attempt that you don’t already write in?  How challenging do you think it would be for you?

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

<–Question of the Week: 8/7/16          Question of the Week: 8/21/16–>

17 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 8/14/16

  1. I think a cosmic horror mystery from you would be awesome! Looking forward to reading it someday 🙂

    I don’t know if the big messy novel thing I’m working on now even fits in a genre. If I’d have to guess, it would probably fall in the dark fantasy category, with added sarcastic humor/cheesy one liners by some of my characters, lol I’m up to a Chapter 13, and still have lots of things I want to see happen. The biggest challenge for me is just finishing my first attempt at writing a novel. I hope I can actually finish it, but I really don’t know if its ever going to make sense to another pair of eyes (If I get brave enough to share it that is…sigh).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you! It’s in the works, well…in the mind works lol. I only have notes right now, and an MC name: Aurora Winters (I’m…very obsessed with the northern lights :p), but I think it would be fun to do something different even if it were just for a test.

      Well it sounds like your “big messy novel thing” transcends genre, and that’s no terrible thing. Most stories nowadays have a definite crossover, and that makes them more interesting. It sounds like it would be dark fantasy with a tongue-in-cheek mien, and I love well done sarcastic humor and/or self-aware characters.

      The fact that you’ve reached Chapter 13 says a lot. I mean even if each chapter is only five pages that’s still 65 pages, nothing to sneeze at! I’m not going to quote you the trite advice that basically boils down to “just keep swimming,” but I will say that what’s helped me is planning time to write and sticking with it. I know it’s what the greats do. I’m a veeeeeery slow writer whereas my friend who has several books published can churn out a novel in six months. Now granted hers are generally simpler and fun excursions (she writes a lot of YA and Steampunk) where mine tend to try to be heavier and more melancholy, but we all go at our own pace.

      If you ever would like a pair of eyes (no pressure!) I’d have no problems taking a look at it. I’m an extremely gentle critiquer because I’m super sensitive. So I’ll give you my take on what may need tweaking, but I’ll do it in a really nice way.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Northern lights are awesome so it’s a good thing to be obsessed about.

        It’s actually up to 200 plus pages now… I just have to set aside my fear of rejection, and remember why I started writing it in the first place. For fun, and to help me through some personal issues. Let’s just say my life has improved significantly since I started writing it. I’ll just keep dreaming about it being worthy enough to get published some day.

        Thank you so much for the offer! I know you’re busy with a ton of other projects. I will probably take you up on that if I get it to a first draft stage. Your blog and stories have actually inspired me to keep going with it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The fear of rejection is honestly one of the hardest things to fight, but in this phase I would try not to worry about it? I mean you’re going to worry if you’re going to worry., but the writing process is separate for me from the shopping around process. I hate when that fear impedes on that, which it does after another bout of submissions. It’s so hard to write when you have that hanging over your head, but eventually (even if it takes years) it fades.

        I think I already mentioned that if it hadn’t been for my plethora of rejections of my original paranormal romance, I never would’ve written Northern Lights so at least I did something productive. Fanfiction was a welcome (if unfortunately too often derided) retreat, but there’s a really good fan base out there for it that I was surprised to find, which helps bolster confidence in writing.

        Remember this. There are powers and structures in place to keep you from being published by a big company, but no one can stop you from being a writer. You’re a writer if you write, and there’s no one and nothing that can take that away.

        I always make time to look at my friends’ writing! We have to stick together especially since the this industry is so difficult and thankless. It’s funny if sad that artistic pursuits can give you the most life and inspiration and yet in the same breath suck it right out of you.

        Eeep omg I’m so blushing right now. I’m happy I inspired you! That really makes my day. Ahhh I’m so sensitive I’m tearing up. It’s one of the reasons I enjoy writing whether it’s fanfiction or original. You never know what it might mean to someone, and if I can inspire people to put more creativity in the world, well hooray *hides in corner, covering her face*

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I always get too far ahead of myself. Thank you so much for the encouraging words! I’ve heard stories about now famous authors getting rejected several times before finally getting published. I’m so glad there’s this internet thing that anyone can use to publish their own work. Artistic pursuits are quite the double edged sword unfortunately.

        Aw, didn’t mean to make you tear up. Your work truly has inspired me though! Keep up the amazing writing. I’m about half way through Chapter 9 of Norther Lights. I really enjoyed the “in between” area. I normally just have time to read about a chapter, but the way you ended Chapter 8 made me go right into the next one to see what happended next.

        Now this “writer” needs to go work on her epic novel… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It’s so ironically encouraging! Because everyone has to start somewhere, and everyone goes through similar trials and tribulations.

        Oh don’t worry! They were shy/embarrassed but happy tears. I’m such an easy crier. Certain songs also do me in and even certain pictures.

        Eeeeeep! Okay so…the “in between” has been on my mind a lot this past week because I just finished watching this show Stranger Things, and there’s something similar in it. I don’t want to say much in case you haven’t seen it, and if you haven’t, I highly recommend if you can. It’s on Netflix, but I know I had to schedule out some time to watch. I can be super picky about shows, and this one has an 80s setting, but the manage to capture the aesthetic without it being campy at all! I had to list out all of the other stories it either referenced or paralleled after I was done, and I want to watch it again (I’m just waiting for my husband to have the time since he hasn’t seen it). It’s paranormal and horror, the latter of which causes my wuss puss reflexes to go haywire, BUT since I do want to write that genre, imbibing in it is a must.

        Oh and I have to laugh evilly at your statement about the end of Chapter 8 *rubs hands together, too* Everything went according to plan >:)

        Go writer go!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Mystery seems to be the popular answer to this one! I’d love to see a resurgence of the genre. I love Law and Order and NCIS and all of those types of things. I love seeing how something that seems simple can unravel into such marvelous complications.

      Speaking of mysteries OMG I finished Stranger Things Friday night, and I need to talk about it. I made a list of all the other stories it reminds me of, and I need to make a list of questions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

