The State of the Writer: 8/13/16

<–The State of the Writer: 8/6/16          The State of the Writer: 8/20/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 273,244
Prior Word Count: 273, 963
Word Difference: -719
Status: Editing
Progress: 1st edit of Chapter 3

Ocean Sunrise

I just finished an editing session this morning, though I had to cut it short due to circumstances.  I’m plugging away at Chapter 3, still seeking a chapter picture, and struggling with what picture I’m even going to post on this update.  I have solid mental images in my head, but unfortunately they seem to be in short supply in the real world.

I decided on an ocean sunrise since I’m at the part where Sephiroth carries Aeris outside the next morning in order to take her to get help.  She’s been questioning the light that’s been spilling through her curtains, and now she gets to see it for true.  Again I don’t think this will be the chapter picture either, because the focus is more on her receiving much needed aid.  I’ll have to keep searching.

Quote: Softened hair spilled over her face as Aeris turned with a squint.  A little gasp escaped her throat to witness daylight again.  From a split in the curtains, a shaft sauntered forth, painting stark sun on the carpet.  She squeezed her eyes shut, now more terrified that all of this would just melt.  Without vision a low roar rolled through her ears like a giant, purring beast.  Patterned on top were higher soft cries.  Aeris covered her head as she trembled.


Project: Story
Title:
The Threads of Sorrow
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Retold Fairy Tale
Type: Original Short Story
Prior Word Count: 7344
Current Word Count: 6940
Word Difference: –404
Status: Editing
Progress: First Edit 2/3 Complete

I made significant progress on this story this week considering last week I was just in the planning phase.  Editing Threads is slightly different from editing TBR.  Since it doesn’t have chapters (only breaks), I’m editing the entire story at once as the first edit, and when I’m done that, I’m hoping the second edit will just be a read through.

No quote for this one since I want to try to get it published in a legitimate magazine.  My author friend gave me the information for Boroughs Publishing so I’m going to attempt them.


Project: List
Title: Final Fantasy Tarot
Status: WIP
Progress: Working on “The Magician”

While I was working on my Northern Lights edit, I started thinking about the idea of a Final Fantasy tarot deck.  I’ve seen a few around the web, but my latest googling brought me to some very beautiful ones indeed.

Final Fantasy Tarot
Final Fantasy Tarot

While I like the pictures, I don’t entirely agree with whom they put in each place.  I decided I’d compile my own list.  So far I’ve only done The Fool and started working on The Magician whose character I just definitely figured out.  I had two other contenders, but the one I settled on seems the perfect fit.

Like everything I endeavor, this has turned into a long(er) term project.  I’m going to try to work on it throughout the coming weeks.  I considered doing it as a weekly or twice weekly post, but I’d rather just have them all listed at once.

Of course any suggestions anyone has to make for this are always welcome.  I’m only doing the Major Arcana and will take anything under consideration!


Project: Book Reviews
Title(s):
Various
Genre:
Fantasy
Status:
Active Progress

I only have unfinished reviews left, which makes me worried people will think I’m a Negative Nancy all the time about books.  While my latest reviews have been less than stellar, I promise you, there are books I most definitely enjoy.  Sadly, the ones left are not books I did enough to complete for various reasons.

I do need to update Amazon for The Tales of Beedle the Bard and The Girl with All the Gifts, the latter which, while unfinished, I still read enough to give a rating to.  Maybe I’ll concentrate on that this week: updating Amazon.  I do still want to try to complete the rest of these unfinished reviews.  *sigh*

Let’s see…well I really should do Chained  I feel really bad about that one.  The author sent me an ARC, and I didn’t finish it and didn’t get back to her.  I didn’t hate the book, but it’s YA, and I have trouble with the genre as a whole.  I’ll feel better if I do a review though.  She deserves that for giving me a free copy.

I’ll also do The Land of Painted Caves.It’s going to be hella negative, but I should be able to rev up a good rant.  To let you know what you’re probably in for, I gave this book one star.  I’ll only be joining an already vocal chorus, but I still want to add my two cents.


What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 8/6/16          The State of the Writer: 8/20/16–>

Save

6 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 8/13/16

  1. I admire all of the writing projects you have going on! I just keep myself in my blogging and microstory niche.

    Maybe one day I’ll sit down and try to write something longer.

    But I did get a bunch of yard trash picked up and pruned the front tree, in the super heat today (it’s hot here in Maryland) so I did get something done. (Just not creatively.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m trying to tell myself that I don’t have to drive myself up the wall with attempting to finish everything as soon as possible. It’s perfectly okay to have long term projects.

      I really wish I could draw, too. It’s so hard to find people whose art you both like and who’re doing commissions (not to mention the cost). I used to sketch a long time ago, but I never kept up with it. I remember getting the strategy guide for Final Fantasy VI just so I could do that because at the time that was my favorite FF. I have no idea where those sketches are not, but I think I better leave the visual art to those with far steadier hands.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

