The State of the Writer: 7/16/16

<–The State of the Writer: 7/9/16          The State of the Writer: 7/23/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 274, 492
Prior Word Count: 275,045
Word Difference: -553
Status: Editing
Progress: 1st Edit of Chapter 2

Bedroom with Canopy BedI am still on Chapter 2, and it’s almost been two weeks.  I came to a conclusion that I thought was going to be a hard truth, but once I arrive at it, it forced me to be easier on myself.

I realized I’m not going to finish editing this by Christmas.  I would have to edit a chapter a week, and I’ve already fallen behind with that.  I started the current chapter on 7/3.  It’s 7/16 and I still haven’t finished the first edit.  It’s just not going to happen, and pushing myself to already stretched limits will just make me break.  Editing is also on my planner every day, and that needs to change.  I fully intend to edit most days of the week, but it’s just not feasible for me to edit every day especially when I have other things to work on.  Like the essay I’ll talk about below, book reviews, game reviews, game playing, etc.  I also want to reedit and repost some of my older fanfictions and reedit and resubmit some of my old original work in addition to reediting the paranormal romance novel I put on hold.  I worry about disappointing people who are interested in reading my work so I want it out now, but one, most of the people who’ve expressed interest understand that writing/editing takes time, and I’m starting to think about that like I think about GRRM and The Winds of Winter.  Of course I want to read it, but stories don’t come quickly or easily.  Even though I’m a nobody and he’s the author of the greatest fantasy epic of our time, at the very least I can extend that same, small courtesy to myself.

So I will be taking some time (probably on the weekends) to edit some of my older fanfictions.  I really want to revise my very first one Forgiveness and Redemption and get that back up here and elsewhere (it’s an FFVII Aeriseph one, too).  Same with Borrowed Lives.  Although that one is up; I have a little bit of tweaking to do with it.  Then my short story Threads of Sorrow needs to be reedited and resubmitted in a process that will surely include rejection and heartbreak.  Don’t get me started on the paranormal romance The Serpent’s Tale.  And I have ideas for new stories, too.

So *takes deep breath* now that that’s out of the way, I can talk about my progress on this edit instead of worrying about the completion of the edit.  The picture above is a potential one for the chapter.  It’s close to what Aeris’s new bed and bedroom look like.  Not…quite perfect, but it’s a start.  I figured out that I want to have a picture of her room to represent the chapter, because her having not just a new home but a home is a major point in this part about gentleness.  I want to look up others, and would love to find a picture of a bedroom with a canopy bed and a view out a window to a balcony.  If any one locates something like this and tells me, I would be beyond grateful.  In my mind’s eye, the canopy’s drapes are a dark color, maybe rich wine red, and the carpet is plush and white.  It is a place I would love to awaken, though no one deserves to awaken in Aeris’s state.

Just for a bonus, I have a picture of what helped me describe her bathroom.  The colors don’t match, and the tub should be bigger, but it was a fantastic visual aid.

Ornate BathroomI should be able to finish the first edit of Chapter 2 by the end of the weekend if not tonight.  I have six pages left.  If I can do three tonight and three tomorrow, I can call the first tangled pass complete.

Quote: “‘You’re being…easy?’ She glanced up at him, uncertainty knitting her brow.
‘Gentle,’ he corrected, as he massaged the base of her fingers.  The light from his eyes softened to sadness.  She didn’t even know the term.
‘Gentle…’  The Cetra shut her eyes with a sigh.
‘Yes, Aeris,” he whispered. ‘That’s all there is now.  Gentle is all you will know.'”


Project: Book Reviews
Title(s):
Various
Genre:
Fantasy
Status:
Active Progress

I updated The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicle #1) and Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas #1) this week.  I have The Golem and the Jinni and The Maze Runner (Maze Runner #1) on my schedule for this week.  These books are unique as the first one is what I call an Unfinished, and the second is a less than stellar review.  Prior to this I’ve completed and (mostly) loved all of the books.  That paradigm ends this upcoming week.


Project: Book Review
Title: The Slow Regard of Silent Things
Author: Patrick Rothfuss

Untitled-14

I can’t really say I started the review of this, but I do have a draft saved with all of the initial information (title, author, blurb).  I’d like to get it done before the week is out.  It wasn’t a very long book, only half your average novel length, so (theoretically) it shouldn’t take me too long to review, but though it’s pages are few, it’s words resonate especially Mr. Rothfuss’s beautiful author’s note.  It spoke to me in a similar way to The Second Kind of Loneliness.


Project: Book Review
Title: Spectrum
Author: Aidan J. Reid

This story probably holds the record as being my fastest read this year.  It took me less than 24 hours to complete.  I started yesterday (7/15/16) evening and finished this morning.  I’ll talk more about it in review, but I highly recommend it.  At only 35 pages and utterly engaging, it’s well worth the $0.99.  There’s more about it here on the author’s blog.

I almost want to review this one prior to Slow Regard even though I finished that one first, since Mr. Reid is an up and coming author whereas Mr. Rothfuss is far more established.  The former only has eight reviews on this, where as Kingkiller’s author has over 20k on Goodreads.


Project: Essay
Title: The Seventh Is the Darkest
Subject: FFVII Meta/Examination
Status: Complete

Barren World - Second ComingI finished the essay Thursday evening (7/14/16) and proofread it last night.  The proofreading took over four hours.  The essay itself a little over a week.  It’s hard to write about rape all the time, and “mommy issues” are always challenging for me to tackle, but I’m happy with how it turned out.

I need to put it on tumblr now, too.  I’m thinking I may actually post the essay itself and not just a link, so it’ll take more time.  I’d like to see if I can add it as a journal entry to Deviant Art, since I have a little bit of a following there for Northern Lights.

Quote: What makes Final Fantasy VII truly the darkest is how closely it aligns with our world.  Through a glass, darkly” we must peer and through that night we see ourselves. 


What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 7/9/16          The State of the Writer: 7/23/16–>

Save

6 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 7/16/16

  1. Yay, more fancy pictures! And I would definitely rather you take the editing at your own pace. Not only is it a massive project, but an emotionally sensitive one as well. Your audience will still be here when it’s ready. (Who knows, if there are more FF7 remake teasers/announcements, maybe there will even be more of an audience).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

