The State of the Writer: 7/9/16

<–The State of the Writer: 7/2/16          The State of the Writer: 7/16/16–>

A weekly post updated every Saturday discussing my current writing projects and where I stand with them.  This will include any and all work(s) in progress (WIP) be they creative writing, essays/analyses, or reviews of any type.

Content Warning:  Mentions/references to rape in the quote.

Project: Story
Title:
The Broken Rose
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Type: Fanfiction (FFVII) Novel
Current Word Count: 275,045
Prior Word Count: 274,512
Word Difference: +533
Status: Editing
Progress: 1st Edit of Chapter 2

John Bunyan Quote Macro
Additional quote for the story

I am in the midst of the edit for Chapter 2, which is 22 pages long.  It took me a week to edit Chapter 1, which is only four pages, so this doesn’t bode well for my chapter a week goal nor my end one of finishing the edit before Christmas.  I also had to go back and do some fixes on Chapter 1 when I was in Chapter 2, so I’ll need to at least read through that again *sigh*

In regards to this week’s picture, I was going to talk about this quote in terms of Chapter 2 in my Editing Notes, and I realized it would make a great one for that chapter, but as I’m not doing chapter quotes, I had a dilemma.  I really love this quote for this story, but I also love the Mary Fahl one that I’m already using.

“I’ll bind your wounds and comfort you,
‘Cause I know who you are.”
-Mary Fahl “Gravity (Move Mountains)”

It’s more aligned with Aeris and Sephiroth’s relationship.  He knows her and she knows him (though he doesn’t know that).  Knowledge, and the lack of knowing about knowledge is very important in their relationship and a grander scale in the original narrative of VII itself, so there’s no way I can’t use it especially along with the “bind your wounds.”  It’s.  Perfect.  But the John Bunyan quote speaks to a connection with our own world, especially considering the heartbreaking image of that kitten.  I hope the person he’s leaning against immediately picked him and and took him away to be forever cared for and loved…as I do in this story.  I wound up making this the additional quote to The Broken Rose underneath the Mary Fahl lyric.  I’m satisfied that that’s the way things should be shaped.

I don’t have a picture for this chapter yet or even potential candidates.  I would love to find one of Sephiroth holding her wrapped in his coat, but I don’t think one such as that exists.  I may go for a picture of a luxurious bedroom with a canopied bed where the view is looking out a window.  I have an image in my head of what Aeris sees when she first wakes up, and it’s the diaphanous drapes of her new bed through which she can see the window to the balcony.  The confusion and still terror for her is heartbreaking to think of, but she is completely safe at this moment…she just doesn’t know it yet 😦

The quote this week was something I just added.  It puts me in the mind of Theon Greyjoy when he’s forced to take the persona of Reek.  Ramsay takes literally everything from him, but Theon can’t forget who is he…he can’t forget his name.

Quote: “Th-they took everything from me, but they could never have my name.  N-None of them knew or…cared what it was, but I forced myself to remember.  I was Aeris.  Aeris.  Aeris.  M-My masters could never have that.  They beat and raped all the will out of me, but I always had my name…”  


Project: Book Reviews
Title(s):
Various
Genre:
Fantasy
Status:
Active Progress

The project continues on.  I posted Stardust this week and hope to update at least two more this upcoming.  I’m looking at The Name of the Wind and Odd Thomas to update


Project: Essay
Title: The Seventh Is the Darkest
Subject: FFVII Meta/Examination
Status: In-Progress

I’m going to work on this immediately after this post.  I want to finish the essay tonight and edit and post it tomorrow.  I did some work on it this past Thursday, but that time was mostly spent making a macro specifically for the essay.  Here’s to hoping I can finish tonight and get some editing in, as well.


What are you currently working on?  Is it a creative writing project, essay, review, or something else?  Have you just started something new or are you wrapping up a long term project?

<–The State of the Writer: 7/2/16          The State of the Writer: 7/16/16–>

Save

Save

5 thoughts on “The State of the Writer: 7/9/16

    1. Aw thank you! I actually commissioned a Deviant Artist for an Aeris and Sephiroth picture!! That…was a few months ago and I followed up in June, but I feel bad following up again. I think I’m going to give her until August to get back to me. I know how long anything creative can take so I’m trying not to be impatient. If I were self-publishing my novel (which I in no way want to do) I would commission her to draw the cover. Her art just fits so well with how I imagine my characters to be. Commissions are (rightly) expensive though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

