The State of the Reader: 7/6/16

<–The State of the Reader: 6/29/16          The State of the Reader: 7/13/16–>

A weekly post updated every Wednesday detailing my current reading projects and where I am with them in addition to what new titles I’ve added to my to-read list.  Title links go to Goodreads to make it easier for interested parties to add any books that might strike their fancy.  I attempt to use the covers for the edition I’m reading, and I’ll mention if this is not the case.  If you have a Goodreads account feel free to friend me!  I’d love to see what you’re reading and/or planning to read.

Content Warning: Some discussions of rape as it pertains to narratives.


Books Finished This Week: 0


Books Currently Reading: 3
Change from Last Week: 0

Title: The Mystical Qabalah
Author: Dion Fortune

Mystical Qabalah, TheMedium: Paperback
Progress: 63%

No progress.  I’ll try to finish the chapter on Hod by next week.  That’s my goal for this book.

Title: The Rape of Lucrece
Author: William Shakespeare
Date Added: December 11, 2015
Date Started: June 25, 2016

Rape of Lucrece, The

Medium: Paperback
Progress: 32%

Same problem as last week with this one.  I’m editing a story that’s rife with rape.  It’s hard to read about it as well.  Once I’m farther along in TBR I should be able to finish this off.

Title: The Slow Regard of Silent Things
Series Title: The Kingkiller Chronicle
Author: Patrick Rothfuss
Date Added: October 30, 2014
Date Started: June 25, 2016

Untitled-14

Medium: Paperback
Progress: 66%

I was hoping to finish this little novella this week, but I’m more than halfway done.  It’s sweet and whimsical with a dark edge.  I’ll more than likely give it a quick review.


Fanfictions Finished: 0

In Progress Fanfictions Read: 0

Fanfictions Currently Reading: 1

Title: I’m the Darkness, You’re the Starlight
Author: runicmagitek
Fandom: FFVI
Pairing: Celes Chere/Setzer Gabbiani

I read Chapter 4 the other day and plan to read Chapter 5 tonight.  If you’re familiar at all with the game, this is a mid-canon story that occurs around the time Celes seemingly betrays the rebel band.  The young general is a fascinating and complex character, and I’m happy someone is writing about that “lost” scene.  VI doesn’t have the same silence as VII, but I’ve yet to find any story that doesn’t have something lurking in the shadows.


Books Added to Goodreads This Week: 2

Title: The Names
Author: Don DeLillo
Date Added: July 5, 2016

A friend on Goodreads added this, and I read DeLillo’s White Noise for one of my postmodern literature classes..  I greatly enjoyed that book, which is currently on my to-reread list.  I remember it being brilliant and cynical; two traits I hope to completely master one of these days 😉

Title: Crystallum
Series Title: The Primordial Principles
Author: Laney McMann
Date Added: July 5, 2016

I added this based on the review by All Romance Reads, and I also absolutely love the cover.  It gives me what I call that feeling, the strange almost nostalgic yearning I can’t explain.  The best word for it might be sehnsucht.  The dark and/or magical forest always does that to me where what waits beyond is both miraculous and unknown.  The story itself is about Kade who was turned into a “devil’s child and Cole, one of the Celestial Children.  An obviously unity of opposites paradigm is about to ensue.


Books Added to Goodreads To-Reread List This Week: 1

Title: The Little Prince
Author: Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Translator: Richard Howard
Date Added: June 29, 2016

I read this book long before I ever took a single French class so it was as a child I experienced it.  I then read it in high school (in one of those fore mentioned French classes), but it was in French, and reading something to foster understanding in a foreign tongue is a bit different from reading it for examination in your own (I give kudos to anyone who does so like some of the ASOIAF theorists I follow).  Now that I’m an adult (not a very adulty adult, but still) I would like to read it again.  Stories do not change no matter how long the time stretches between readings, but we do in what we find.


What are you currently reading and/or what’s on your radar to read next?  What would you recommend based on my current and recently added?  As always I look forward to your comments and suggestions!

<–The State of the Reader: 6/29/16          The State of the Reader: 7/13/16–>

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “The State of the Reader: 7/6/16

Leave a Reply

