Question of the Week: 6/26/16

<–Question of the Week: 6/19/16          Question of the Week: 7/3/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

What is your favorite language to sing in?

Latin is my favorite language to sing in, but German is a close second.  This means I have a great appreciation for E Nomine, a German musical project that features both Ominous Latin Chanting and their mother tongue.

(Um okay, oh…my…God.  So I was looking up the link for Ominous Latin Chanting above and came across this gem from DIssidia. Squeenix/Final Fantasy loves its OLC)

This…is my favorite song by them.  I’m planning an AMV for it using FFVII and Sephiroth (of course).  I first heard this years and years ago when flash videos were a thing, and there was one entitled Faust. The video itself surprisingly holds up, though I think the song really helps.  I’m honestly surprised I found it on YouTube.  I’ve been trying to locate it for a while and just happened to luck out today.  I think there’s some thing with videos being available between Germany and the US.  I’ve had some friends over there tell me that they can’t see videos with copyrighted music, mores the pity :\

I’ve sung many songs in Latin back when I was a choir girl among them of course selections from Carmina Burana (“O Fortuna” is so overplayed now that I’m not even going to bother with that one.  I actually like the below a bit better probably for the fore mentioned reason).

I can still easily memorize the words even though I didn’t really study nor do I actually speak Latin, but I taught myself the words to the original “One Winged Angel” (which for the unknowing takes its lyrics from selections in Carmina Burana…god I miss singing that).

the Advent Children version

in addition to “The Promised Land,” which is from the fore mentioned movie as well.

 

I will look up the translation and sing along with the song as it plays, and this somehow carves the words into my mind if I do it enough times.  I think AC OWA took me ten minutes to memorize, but “The Promised Land” was a bit longer.  I’m still trying to commit the Advent hymn “Veni Veni Emmanuel” to memory.

Then there’s Vivaldi’s “Et In Terra Pax” from his Gloria.  This song is absolutely aetherial, and quite difficult to sing.

I feel as though I more answered the question, “What are your favorite songs in your non-native tongue?” instead of my stated question.  Maybe I just answered both.  But I feel as though I’ve neglected my very close second German even though I did initially laud a German based band.  Hm, well, I must say that another song I did in my choir days was by Beethoven, but for the life of me I can’t find it.  For some reason I thought it was called Beethoven’s Chorale Fantasy, but all the versions I locate don’t have words.  I can remember some of the ones we sang, but I don’t think I could spell them well enough to google.


What is your favorite language(s) to sing in that isn’t your native tongue?  It could be one from a second language.  What are your favorite songs in said language(s)?

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

<–Question of the Week: 6/19/16          Question of the Week: 7/3/16–>

6 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 6/26/16

  1. I love all of these! Proper moody drama, that gives dignity to the sorriest of situations. Thank you for posting these up, you’ve brightened up my moody Monday. In answer to your question, I like singing where I can’t understand the words, then I can make the meaning anything I want it to be – very antisocial. Latin is great for this, it sounds important, and they can be singing about someone being bald and I won’t have a clue, so in my head it’s all sinister ceremonies and the apocalypse.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg yes, I think it’s hilarious that that song has that line about how Fortune is supposed to have a full head of hair, but in truth is bald. It’s a pretty good metaphor, too, along with being amusing.

    Latin always sounds like you’re summoning something regardless of what you’re saying, and most songs in it just repeat. The fore mentioned does that so do the ones from FFVII. You make the spell more powerful :p

    I’m happy I was able to brighten up a maudlin Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. <- english XD
    how do you like ASP? he has some quite impressive, moody songs as well (Krabat, Me, Weltunter,… but has some 'rock'-elements in a lot of his songs) or maybe Lacrimosa (who despite singing mainly german do have a lot of fans in mexico for example and gothy people as well as classic lovers… And I doubt there is anyone who does not get a 'strange, exciting' feeling with 'Ein hauch von Menschlichkeit' or 'Stolzes Herz' playing) Would also think you could like Deine Lakaien but they usually sing english… Then also Peter Heppner (who did a lot of songs with different artists as well as Wolfsheim)
    Ok, I will stop now… could go on and on and on… maybe you will find something you like amongst these though ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

