Question of the Week: 6/19/16

<–Question of the Week: 6/12/16          Question of the Week: 6/26/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

What’s the longest thing you’ve ever written?

I’m asking this question this week, because I’m lazy and have a lot of catching up to do.  I wanted a really easy answer, and since I just finished The Broken Rose I can answer with that.  It’s nearly 275k words, making it the longest thing I’ve ever written by far.  It’s even longer than my paranormal romance novel The Serpent’s Tale even if I add up both of its parts (256,117 words).  This is of course prior to editing, but I doubt the word count will go down that much, especially since I’m planning on adding at least one chapter.

Now I’m going to go back to setting up my new laptop and organizing my bookshelf through Goodreads.


What’s the longest things you’ve ever written?  Is it creative piece, an essay/analysis, an article, or something else?  Is it something you’ve written recently or did you write it years ago?

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

<–Question of the Week: 6/12/16          Question of the Week: 6/26/16–>

8 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 6/19/16

  1. How do you keep track of such long books? Did you have a wall filled with interconnected notes? I don’t think i could cope, it must take great skill. For me, it’s the book I just wrote, 90,000 words, that might be my limit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honesty I just kept writing with this one! It wasn’t planned to be so long hehe. It was supposed to be a 10k word test fanfiction as it has similar themes to an original story I’m planning, but I severely underestimated how many words it was going to take to complete al I’d had planned. I was actually looking at my first outline, and it doesn’t seem like it should be this long. I’m sure I’ll cut a bit out. It would be hilarious if it’s 10k words down from the final pre-edit word count 😋

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was about a kid moving to a new area and all of his experiences as he goes thru elementary and middle school. Friends he gains, enemies that arise. I mean it was my way of coping with being the new kid and everything I dealt with some things were exaggerated.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

