The State of the Reader: 6/15/16

<–The State of the Reader: 6/8/16          The State of the Reader: 6/22/16–>

A weekly post updated every Wednesday detailing my current reading projects and where I am with them in addition to what new titles I’ve added to my to-read list.  Title links go to Goodreads to make it easier for interested parties to add any books that might strike their fancy.  I attempt to use the covers for the edition I’m reading, and I’ll mention if this is not the case.  If you have a Goodreads account feel free to friend me!  I’d love to see what you’re reading and/or planning to read.

Books Currently Reading: 3

Change from Last Week: 0


Title: Windhaven
Authors: George R R Martin and Lisa Tuttle

WindhavenMedium: Paperback
Progress: 51%

I finished the second part of this and am finally on the third.  I’m hoping I…fly through it.  The “One-Wing” section did pick up a bit, and the “The Fall” part appears to have similar stakes to the first section.  It’s a nice bookend.

Title: Paradise Lost
Author
: John Milton

Paradise LostMedium: Paperback
Progress:
74%

Finished Book IX and am almost finished Book X.  Still waiting/hoping for the part where God takes one of Satan’s wings.  The internet better not have lied to me.  The current part is sooooo boring.  Adam is bitching about his lot after the fall and blaming Eve (of course) paired with more Christian rhetoric about why the man rules over the woman and how she’s going to bear her children in pain *vomit*

You know…it’s funny.  When I was around eight, I decided I was never going to have children because of the pain associated with childbirth.  Then I found out that they can alleviate it through modern medicine (…kind of), and this was one of the first times I experienced religious uncertainty.  If I could have a baby and not be in pain, I’d want in on that, but God had totally decreed in the Bible that women were supposed to be in pain so it had to be wrong to not feel any during labor.  It bothered me and caused no end of anxiety even at a young age.  Now that I’m older I do eventually want to have children if circumstances permit.  I’m also wiser in knowing it’s not going to be entirely painless.  I’m also utterly skeeved out by the process, ugh, but I still want the result.

Title: The Mystical Qabalah
Author: Dion Fortune

Mystical Qabalah, TheMedium: Paperback
Progress: 62%

No progress on this one.  I’ll probably get back to it once the other two are done and the WIP is finished.  I feel as though I said the same thing last week.  Huh.


Books Finished This Week: 0


Books Added to Goodreads This Week: 12

Title: A Dove of the East: And Other Stories
Author: Mark Helprin
Date Added: June 8, 2016

HelprinQuad_3It’s very common for me to have not only have a song, but sometimes a word or phrase stuck in my head.  In runs back and forth on repeat, and since yesterday “A Dove of the East” was it.  I knew it was the title of a book and thought it was by Winter’s Tale’s author Mark Helprin.  I was not wrong.  I love Winter’s Tale.  It was one of those rare, random finds in an old bookstore, picked up because the cover intrigued me

and bought because the blurb did, too.  Dove is a collection of his short stories.  I considered some of his other work like A Soldier of the Great War, but none of them struck my fancy so Dove alone was added to the pile.

Title: Assassin’s Apprentice
Series Title: Farseer Trilogy
Author: Robin Hobb
Date Added: June 9, 2016

Assassin's ApprenticeI looked at this book numerous times before adding it to my list.  What pushed me over was one of my Goodreads friends gave it a high rating and spoke with high regards to the author’s writing style.  This made me to take another peek.  It’s about a royal assassin…that’s a bit hard for me to just glide over since I love assassins for some reason (I’m a bit of a bloodthirsty Narcissist), and the main character of my original novel is one.  One must support one’s own, so this novel deserves a chance.

Title: The Blue Sword
Series Title: Damar
Author: Robin McKinley
Date Added: Robin McKinley

Blue Sword, TheNot only another female author named Robin, but a second book by one of them.  So Ms. McKinley is also the author of one my favorites Deerskin, which I added to my to-reread list last week.  The lovely writer of The Ink Garden commented about this and mentioned that she’d read this series by her as well.  I replied that I had this book on my to-read list, but it turns out I was a liar.  I had the second book of the series The Hero and the Crown instead of this first.  This is not the first or even second time this has happened where I’ll have added (or bought) the second book in a series because I missed the first.  I have remedied this error and added the proper series opener to my list.

Title: The Briar King
Series Title: Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone
Author: Greg Keyes
Date Added: June 9, 2016

Briar King, TheThe blurb on this is haunting in its simplicity.

“In the kingdom of Crotheny, two young girls are playing in the tangled gardens of the sacred city of the dead when they stumble upon the unknown crypt of a legendary ancestral queen.”

That’s really all I needed.

Title: The Bone Doll’s Twin
Series Title: The Tamir Triad
Author: Lynn Flewelling
Date Added: June 9, 2016

Bone Doll's Twin, TheWhen I was talking about why I added The Blue Sword and looking at its entry on Goodreads, I noticed this in the “Readers Also Enjoyed” section, which I scour like a brillo pad on nearly every book.  It sounds intriguing with its usurper king and hiding daughters for their own safety.

Title: Pathfinders
Author: Aidan J. Reid
Date Added: June 9, 2016

PathfindersI added this per a post by the author.  The idea of lucid dreaming and the horrors that ensue intrigued me.

The next two books are also by Aidan J. Reid.  They’re upcoming so no covers as of yet.

Title: Spectrum
Author: Aidan J. Reid
Date Added: June 9, 2016

There are many things we can’t see, and on a mundane level visible light is a fraction of them.  This story explores this paradigm.  Since I spent a great deal of time researching and writing about cat eyes, speculation on vision/point of view is an exercise I’d like to observe.  Another volume added per a post on the writer’s website.

Title: Sigil
Author: Aidan J. Reid
Date Added: June 9, 2016

The title caught my interest immediately since sigils are of the utmost importance in A Song of Ice and Fire/Game of Thrones.  But then the story became interesting in its own right with priest turned detective Father Tom taking it upon himself to investigate a murder in a close Irish community.  The last book I read with a priest turned detective was 3 Gates of the Dead, which is by an author friend of mine and it’s phenomenal.  The opportunity for sleek deception and red herrings is too much for me to pass up, especially when such a violent crime occurs in a place where you least suspect it.  Also added per the writer’s website.

Title: Illuminae
Series Title: The Iluminae Files
Author: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Date Added: June 12, 2016

Illuminae

The power of internet connections is amazing.  My latest book review was liked by The Scarlett Bookkeeper whose blog I started to follow as I’ll follow most book review blogs.  While looking through it, I saw her review of this intriguing story.  I not only added the book to my Goodreads list, but I also followed her.  I count this as a double win for the Shameful Narcissist.

This is a sci-fi novel, which is not my usual fare, but the main character breaks up with her boyfriend the same day their planet is invaded by aliens.  The tension potential in such a tale is too ideal to pass up.  I really want to see how these characters interact with each other.  When a relationship is sundered, space is paramount for healing (and I’m not talking about outer space), but extenuating and, well, extraterrestrial circumstances don’t grant that to Kady and Ezra.

Title: The Body Electric
Author: Beth Revis
Date Added: June 12, 2016

Body Electric, The

While added the above novel, I saw this one in the Readers Also Enjoyed section, took a look at it, and added it, too.  The main character can go into peoples’ dreams and influence their memories.  It sounds like a similar motif to numerous characters in ASOIAF/GOT, and when the same thing starts happening to her, things become more complex.

Title: The Invisible Library
Series Title: The Invisible Library
Author: Genevieve Cogman
Date Added: June 14, 2016

Invisible Libary, The

I added this at the same time I followed the blog that showed it to me.  Reviewed here by one Virginia of Pop Culture Uncovered who replied to my comment about her review very quickly with a request to message her when I’d finished it!  I may have to bump this book higher on my list, since I absolutely love talking literature with anyone who will listen, but fellow book nerds are less likely to run away.

The book is described as a veritable feast for anyone who loves Doctor Who, and while it’s been a while since I’ve watched, I still consider myself of the Whovian kind.  Maybe I’ll find the time to catch up…once the WIP is done 😉

I think I’m going to add a shelf to my Goodreads list called Books the Bloggers Recommend.  That way I can catalogue those titles I added due to others reviews.  I’ll also make a section on OneNote to keep track of review links.  Organization may be time consuming, but it saves me so much trouble later.


Books Added to To-Reread List: 0


What are you currently reading and/or what’s on your radar to read next?  What would you recommend based on my current and recently added?  As always I look forward to your comments and suggestions!

<–The State of the Reader: 6/8/16          The State of the Reader: 6/22/16–>

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

14 thoughts on “The State of the Reader: 6/15/16

  1. I’m not going to lie…it annoys the hell out me lol. It’s so much patriarchal rhetoric not to mention promoting ignorance in favor of just doing what you’re told. I have to remind myself that it was written by a 60 year old, quite literally blind Calvinist in the 1600s and as thus is quite up to more modern ideas, but still ugh, it’s quite difficult to push through at points. The most interesting parts definitely concern Satan lol. I can understand how many academics/scholars see him as Milton’s unintentional hero, and frankly God is an utter ass in the narrative. I’ll have a great deal to say when I review it. It might be in several parts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know…and I’m almost done that one, too. I was surprised that Windhaven picked up as much as it did! I’m on the last section of that, and I’m slogging through Paradise Lost. I will have more time next week for reasons I don’t want to give away 😉

    Like

  3. I just made a bookstore run yesterday, and it was one of the ones I picked up! I’m almost finished the three I’m currently reading, and I added a “Blogger Recommendation” shelf to my Goodreads list so it’s definitely near the top 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

