The State of the Reader: 6/8/16

<–The State of the Reader: 6/1/16          The State of the Reader: 6/15/16–>

A weekly post updated every Wednesday detailing my current reading projects and where I am with them in addition to what new titles I’ve added to my to-read list.  Title links go to Goodreads to make it easier for interested parties to add any books that might strike their fancy.  I attempt to use the covers for the edition I’m reading, and I’ll mention if this is not the case.  If you have a Goodreads account feel free to friend me!  I’d love to see what you’re reading and/or planning to read.

Books Currently Reading: 3

Change from Last Week: 0


Title: Windhaven
Authors: George R R Martin and Lisa Tuttle

WindhavenMedium: Paperback
Progress: 31%

I’m on the fence about whether or not I’m going to continue with this one.  The only thing really keeping me is the fact that there’s a character literally called “One-Wing,” and he’s the protagonist’s nemesis.  The stakes just dipped so much lower after the first part.  I’m hoping something exciting happens soon.  They are in the midst of a long flight, which leaves room for excitement aka disaster.

Title: Paradise Lost
Author
: John Milton

Paradise LostMedium: Paperback
Progress:
67%

No progress on this one, and I’m so close to finishing.  This is actually the book I want to be reading for that and other reasons, but since it’s also one I’m taking extensive notes on during, it’s not just a pick up and read type of deal.

Title: The Mystical Qabalah
Author: Dion Fortune

Mystical Qabalah, TheMedium: Paperback
Progress: 62%


Books Finished This Week: 0


Books Added to Goodreads This Week: 3

Title: The Broken Kingdoms
Series Title: Inheritance
Author: N.K. Jemisin
Date Added: June 3, 2016

Broken Kingdoms, TheI’ve owned this book for a while.  I was drawn by mention of the World Tree, but I couldn’t get into it, and that made me sad.  I want to support other writers of color, and I’d heard nothing but good things about Ms. Jemisin.  Then I realized this was the second book in the series and promptly added the first.  I’m hoping when I read the initiator, it will better draw me into this world.

Title: Oak and Mist
Series Title: The Ambeth Chronicles
Author: Helen Jones
Date Added: June 3, 2016

Oak and MistI’m a fan of secret worlds and have been since the days of Narnia.  Throw in lost swords and I’m sold.  The third book in the series was reviewed by Kyrosmagica here, which is how I found out about it, and the first is right here!  Graciously provided by the blogger herself in a comment below, so I updated 🙂

Title: Welcome to the Night Vale
Authors: Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor
Date Added: June 3, 2016

Welcome to the Night ValeFriends have been talking about this for years.  I figured it was time to add it.


Books Added to To-Reread List: 2

Title: Deerskin
Author: Robin McKinley
Date Added: 6/3/16

DeerskinI have actually already written a review for this on Amazon, but as it is many years old and I’m a few years wiser, I wouldn’t put much stock into that.  I read this in high school on the recommendation of a friend, and initially found it quite dull.  Nothing happened, or so I complained.  I asked said friend if it picked up to which she replied she thought it was fairly flowy already.  Not wanting to appear boorish, I pushed through, and once I reached an integral part, there was no putting it down.  I’ve read this several more times since, and the lyricism in the writing has shaped a lot of my own work.  I count this story among the many narratives that initially struggled to hold my interest, but are a major foundation to my literati/scholarly life right now.  I always wonder/worry that there are so many other stories out there that I’ve missed/overlooked that would’ve been instrumental to my development.  I suppose it’s never too late.  This is one of the reasons I want to catch up with Tanith Lee.

Title: A Game of Thrones
Series Title: A Song of Ice and Fire
Author: George R R Martin
Date Added: 6/3/16

Game of Thrones, AI have already started rereading this, but I never officially put it on my Goodreads list.  That oversight ended today.  I am actually reading this in a similar way to Paradise Lost insofar as I have extensive notes on each chapter noting symbolism and foreshadowing.  It’s amazing how there are lines you don’t pay any attention to that upon reread become so significant.  For example in one of the earliest chapters Jon and Arya are having a conversation about sigils while watching the princes mock fight Robb and (I believe) Bran.  Jon notes that Joffrey wears Lannister colors, which he finds odd since that’s his mother’s house not his “father’s.”  Arya argues that the woman is important, too, and Jon asks her if she’d mix her parent’s sigils if she had armor.  Arya sort of sneers and skeptically says, “A wolf with a fish in its mouth?” (the Stark and Tully sigil’s respectively) as if that’s the most ridiculous thing ever.  Little does she know that at a later and sadder time *spoiler* she’ll warg into Nymeria and pull her mother’s corpse out of the river, so fulfilling a prophecy she didn’t even realize she made *end spoiler* This is one among many.  Something huge happened on the show that changes absolutely everything in the narrative and makes me happy I just started the great reread.  I’m very close to the beginning right now, and I did have it under my to-reads on the site, but I took it off in order to catch up in other things.  I should put it back on my reading list and update the pages.  I’ll probably do that for next week.  Of course I’d also like to not read two books that require note taking.  On second thought I think I’ll wait until I finish Paradise Lost before picking this back up.


What are you currently reading and/or what’s on your radar to read next?  What would you recommend based on my current and recently added?  As always I look forward to your comments and suggestions!

<–The State of the Reader: 6/1/16          The State of the Reader: 6/15/16–>

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

9 thoughts on “The State of the Reader: 6/8/16

  1. I remember Deerskin being a harrowing but beautiful read. It’s my favorite of McKinley’s works after The Blue Sword.

    I really need to do an ASoIaF re-read . . . ack, I need more time in the day! My summer reading list is kind of pathetic this year. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have The Blue Sword on my to-read list! Okay, I lied. I just checked and I had The Hero and the Crown on it, which is the second. Just remedied that. It’s been a trend lately with me! I’ve been buying or marking the second book of a series to read. I’m so anxious to up my book count lol.

      I’m trying to finish the books I’m reading before I add anything else. I’m so close with Paradise Lost. I’m still pushing with Windhaven. I might give it fifty more pages to hold my interest before marking it as an unfinished and moving on.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thanks! I’ll update my post with the Oak and Mist review. Always glad to tag where I get my ideas from. I actually just made a new Goodreads shelf for books bloggers recommend so I can give them higher priority especially if I’m asked what I think 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

