Question of the Week: 5/22/16

<–Question of the Week: 5/15/16          Question of the Week: 5/29/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

What’s the last video game you finished?

The last game I finished was Child of Light, which I wrote a glowing review for here.  Like all my other reviews, I included an analysis, too…though I didn’t deliberately intend to rhyme hehe, which is even more interesting as all the dialogue in the game (save one character who doesn’t for comedic effect) does so.

While looking for this picture, I stumbled upon the Child of Light tumblr page, which I immediately followed.  The internet has been kind to me today.

I say this in my review/analysis, but this game is fantastic.  It has a haunting story, a female protagonist, and gorgeous music by Couer de Pirate, among other things.

There have been fantastic cosplays of it.

Aurora
Aurora grown up

No source on this one, though I did look.

Norah her step-sister by ringo-dono

Thus it can never be said that I don’t play/enjoy any other RPGs besides Final Fantasy.


What’s the last video game you completed?  Was it of the type you typically play or did it deviate from your norm?  Would you recommend it?

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

<–Question of the Week: 5/15/16          Question of the Week: 5/29/16–>

8 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 5/22/16

    1. It’s a great soundtrack to edit to! I tend to favor songs without words I’ve noticed, and I read somewhere that video game music is actually designed to foster concentration, which makes sense.

      I haven’t heard of Journey. What type of game is this?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Journey is one of those games that works as an example of games as an art form. It isn’t a long game (only about 3 hours), but is very atmospheric, with beautiful visuals and music. It can be viewed as a metaphor for life’s journey. What makes it so unique IMO is that every individual who plays it can interpret it in a different way; it has more depth than it seems at first glance. I wrote a post about it back in March I think, and you can find walkthroughs on YouTube if you’re interested in learning more.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ll look for the post. Your description reminds me of Dear Esther actually. I don’t know if I’ve ever talked to you about that, but holy up for interpretation Batman…I need to write my review/analysis for that one and either play or watch it’s spiritual sequel “Everyone’s Gone to the Rapture.” Dear Esther is hauntingly atmospheric. You could watch it and still garner as much from it as a play through since it’s all about observation and interpretation. It’s about an hour or so long, and there are some pretty good analysis of it online already, but I really want to write my own. The monologues are unforgettable in my opinion or maybe because I’ve recorded myself reading them so they’re stuck in my head lol.

        Like

  1. Ummm I am sure it was some kind of pokémon game because sadly my gaming time is VERY limited (not talking about those cute apps that one can spend 5 minutes of ones break at work with) and so I stick to what I love, hoping november will be here soon so i can buy the newest edition! Other than that I definitely would be rpg or even a mmorpg (AION!) person but those need time 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are SO time consuming. I’m in the midst of FFIV. I’ve clocked 40 hours, and I’m a little past mod point in the game. Granted I’m a completion artist, and I spend a bit of time taking notes for review so that’s factored in. I haven’t had time to play though, which is why CoL was my last finished, and it was a year ago.

      Like

Leave a Reply

