Question of the Week: 5/1/16

<–Question of the Week: 4/24/16          Question of the Week: 5/8/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

What’s your favorite season?

It is unseasonably cool in my corner of the world, and it’s put me in mind of the seasons; thoughts that have also been spurred along by the return of Game of Thrones where such are awry due to uncanny circumstances centering around the Grim Up NorthFFVII also shares this trope so far as to have the story’s climax occur in that frozen locale.  It would be unsurprising if the same happened in Song.

Regardless, it’s been much colder than expected for end of April/start of May, and though I don’t wholly believe I have any affect on the weather, I have been writing a bit about snow, literally

Actual snow

and figuratively

Jon Snow

The current scene in The Broken Rose is set during a snow storm, though it’s more for ambience (and potential contrast) and is not directly affecting the characters.  There’s also a chapter in my paranormal romance called “To Hate the Winter But Love the Snow,” and Northern Lights has a winter forest scene as well heralded by this picture.

Chapter 17 - When the Forest Sleeps

Also winter angels

Winter Angel Beautiful
Angel of Ice by Irulana

To answer the question officially (if there is still any need), my favorite season is winter.  I’ve romanticized it quite a bit, and the fact that it is my favorite brings to mind a quote from Richard Adams’s Watership Down (which btw is being remade as a four part series for Netflix.  No I am not lying), and though I can’t recall it directly it, the gist of the quote is that men (humans) don’t love the winter; they love that they’re not really affected by it anymore.  We have the ability to avoid not only its discomforts, but also its potential quietus.  Technology has afforded us the means to love that which once could easily kill us.

But winter also brings these lovely scenes:

Winter 2 Winter

Nor can we forget the northern lights themselves, which make up north much less grim (surface wise at least…)

Winter Beneath the Northern Lights

I have a Pinterest board dedicated to the winter and of course one solely for the northern lights.  So while I abhor being cold, I’m not also a fan of the extreme heat, and winter’s aesthetic has always warmed my romantic, gothic heart.


What’s your favorite season and why?  Is there a season you hate?  (If it’s winter I won’t be upset :p)

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

<–Question of the Week: 4/24/16          Question of the Week: 5/8/16–>

15 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 5/1/16

  1. I can never decide if I love spring or fall more. In winter and spring, my favorite season is spring. My favorite color is green and I love it when everything is rainy and lush and blooming. In summer and fall, fall is my favorite. I love sweater weather, autumn colors, and falling leaves.

    I love things about summer and winter too for sure, but I don’t like being too hot or cold. I’m used to cold winters and lots of snow, but I dislike the way winter drags on beyond January. It just snowed the other day (I’m visiting family in Colorado) and the weather is unpleasantly chilly and dreary at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s oddly cold and dreary here, too! Usually by May we’re in the 70-80 degree range, but it’s hovering in the high 50s. I’ve been sleeping in a bathrobe and with two blankets because my apartment is so chilly. I think they cut the heat in April so we’re on our own with that. While I’m happy we’re not swimming in humidity, it’s still curiously cold.

    I’m definitely in the “hates extremes” camp, as well. The beauty of snow hangs an air freshener of sorts on winter’s extreme whereas summer, hm, cicadas? Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heh, true! Snow and ice are at least quite beautiful (and I love snowy holidays; no complaints there). I can tolerate summer better in a drier climate, but humidity makes everything ten times more miserable.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My favorite holidays are Halloween and Christmas, and the humidity in my locale is legendarily horrible. I’ve visited Vegas, and while it’s certainly a dangerous type of heat, it was strangely more bearable, and it was always cool at night.

    Like

  5. My favorite used to be spring, but as of late, I’m leaning towards summer. Not that the weather is my favorite there, but I have so many glorious memories from muggy summer days that it’s colored my perception.

    Like

Leave a Reply

