Question of the Week: 4/3/16

<–Question of the Week: 3/27/16          Question of the Week: 4/10/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

How long does it take you to finish and edit a novel?  What is your average word count?

Finishing a novel from start to finish is usually a two year job.  This also includes a fairly thorough edit as I do it as I go along (maybe I’ll post a question asking about writing process, and if so I’ll explain mine).  Since my original novel still remains unpublished I have more editing to do on that though.  Hoping to get to that before the end of this year.

Northern Lights followed the two year pattern and The Broken Rose is coming up on a year and I’m hoping it will only take a few months to edit.  Fanfiction is a bit different though since there are no gatekeepers per se for that.

I have never written a novel that’s been less than 100k words.  The average is around 150k.


How long does it normally take you to finish a novel?  Does that include editing?  What’s your average word count?

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

<–Question of the Week: 3/27/16          Question of the Week: 4/10/16–>

7 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 4/3/16

  1. It usually takes me a year or two to finish a novel, but I tend to work on them in bursts depending on my schedule, so I’m not certain of the actual time frame. That doesn’t include editing and revision. My average word counts have been about 90k for the first draft; so far my books have all been YA.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I definitely wish I was a faster writer! Though I suppose there are a lot of factors that go into how long it takes, like research, planning, etc. And in my case, a crippling sense of perfectionism.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So many factors go into it. I honestly wouldn’t sweat that you’re not a fast writer. It’s better to take you time and write slowly, feed that perfectionism, then to do it slap dash and end up with something you’re not proud of or feel like you could’ve done better. I know it takes me a long time to finish anything, but that’s because I take my time, and while I’m definitely chomping at the bit to complete TBR, I know so long as I continue working on it, I’ll get it done. Writing is one of the longest games.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You think so? Thanks! I always feel like I’m so much slower than my contemporaries. During NaNoWriMo (the National November Writing Month “contest”) one of my fellow bloggers wrote 150k words in that interim! I…was blown away to say the least, but people have different time constraints. I recently stayed up until around 4 and almost got out 5k words, which is the most I’ve ever written in a session. It was a pivotal part so I just pushed through and got it while the writer energy was high. I really, really, really want to finish this piece this month!

      Like

Leave a Reply

