Question of the Week: 1/3/16

Question of the Week: 1/10/16–>

The Question of the Week is posted every Sunday and will consist of a question followed by my answer and explanation to the same.  Some questions will only require a simple answer that could potentially be followed by an explanation.  Many questions will be writer oriented, but not all.  Everyone is encouraged to answer in the comments and discussions/follow up questions are more than welcome!

Greetings dear readers.  I believe my last foray into blogging was the almost perfunctory 2016 goal post.

First pun of the year and it’s good.

Even at my most down and tiredest I still think in puns.  I’m no better or worse than I normally am.  I feeding my fatigue with coffee and hoping for the best.

A while ago last year I created a list of questions I’d ask my Editing Blog readers at the end of each post, but then I realized that these questions would work perfectly well as standalone queries I could throw out each week.  I would ask the question, give my own answer, and then anyone who wanted to could provide their own answer in the comments.  Oh and fair warning a lot of these questions will be directed at writers and for writing, because it’s what I think about pretty much all the time.  I also follow quite a few writing blogs and am (gratefully) followed by some of the same.

This will be the only week with this longish introduction.  The following ones will just have the question and my answer with a possible introduction in the beginning for new arrivals.  I might created a permanent link on the main page; I haven’t decided yet.


If you had to pick a theme song and/or instrument for your character(s), what would it/they be?

I’m going to go back to my original novel The Serpent’s Tale to answer this one since my latest works (Northern Lights and the WIP The Broken Rose) are fanfictions plus the characters therein already conveniently have leitmotifs.  I haven’t spoken a lot about TST or I haven’t been too comprehensive about it (that I can recall), but it’s a paranormal romance/dark fantasy about an assassin who’s hired to take a priestess to the holy city of her faith for some pretty ominous reasons and holy shit that is the easiest explanation of Serpent I’ve EVER written.  I usually fumble over what the hell I’m going to say, but I guess in my sort of lackadaisical state the words just come easy.  Anyway, the assassin is really a dark angel and the priestess is more than just that her title.  Things are not what they seem (like every story), and they become embroiled in a much more than either signed up for.

Anyway, the assassin’s instrument is the cello, because one of his stand out factors is how beautiful/attractive he is, which causes a lot of headache for the priestess since she’s “supposed” to see him as a killer and therefore evil, and bad people are supposed to be ugly so she can’t reconcile that.  Like the cello, the assassin has much more depth to him than just the beauty.  There’s a sorrowful foundation there, a mourning that I can’t help but think of whenever I hear the strains of a cello’s strings.  That entire family of instruments is my favorite, and one of the premier examples of what emotions a cello can evoke lies in this song here.

His speaking voice is also rich and low, a bit of the subversion of the Evil Sounds Deep trope since he is the hero of the tale.

The priestess on the other hand is represented by the flute.  She is innocence to his darkness (…you should know by now that this is one of my favorite paradigms if this isn’t your first day here), and her voice is high and sweet when she isn’t berating him for what he is hehe.  The flute has its sweetness, but it can also be piercing and harsh.  I attempted to find a good example of flute music, but none of it was satisfactory.

I look forward to your answers in the comments!

Question of the Week: 1/10/16–>

7 thoughts on “Question of the Week: 1/3/16

    1. That’s one of the many things I love about Final Fantasy! Characters starting with VI (I think that’s where it started) and up all have music just for them. The only other story I can recall that occurring in is Peter and the Wolf, which I also love.

      I’d love to learn the cello one day. I played violin long ago and I can still play the piano, but the cello has that beautiful grief in its voice.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

