Angel of Light

It’s late (or early depending on how you look at it), and this Narcissist is very sleepy, but I wanted to post this macro, because it’s made from my favorite Bible verse.  Yes, I know, shock and surprise; I’m not the godless heathen I’ve made myself out to be…or am I?  Considering who I’m using in this macro, how I pretty much fangirl worship the ground he this walks on (or flies above, which is ever better), and also considering how I wrote this defense, I wouldn’t quite revoke my “godless heathen” status quite yet.  I mean, Sephiroth is pretty much that VII’s version of Satan/Lucifer and the Antichrist, so my obsession with him has some pretty…troublesome implications (to put it lightly).  I’d say I try not to think about it too much, but we all know I’d be lying.

Sephiroth Angel of Light 2“…for even Satan himself masquerades as an angel of light.”

The particular verse is from 2 Corinthians 11:14, and I purposely went for a halo effect in this macro just for the irony(?) and definitely the incongruence, though at this point he has not been taking over by an eldritch abomination alien parasite, which is always a good day in my book.

I discuss this QUITE a bit in my Northern Lights Editing Blog (or I will be when I reach the appropriate part), because I find this line to be fascinating in its veneer of simplicity with so much hiding beneath.  It’s also intolerable to me that someone that beautiful is utterly evil of their own accord.  Yes, I have fallen for the Aesthetic Fallacy.  No I don’t care.  Yes, I intend to expound about what the Aesthetic Fallacy is at some point even though I can’t remotely be considered the premier author of the theory, though I thought about it before I’d ever heard of the trope Beauty Equals Goodness.  I remember I was in a class at university where we were discussing eco-feminism (which coincidentally is also very heavily referenced in FFVII go figure).  The professor said something about a fallacy, and the term Aesthetic Fallacy just popped into my head.  Eventually, I thought of a good definition to fit it.  Oh and wait…I already did expound upon this in Heart of Darkness.  I told you I was sleepy.

I actually made two macros for this one quote, because I couldn’t quite decide between them.  I prefer the top one, but you can really see his exquisite eyelashes in this one ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sephiroth Angel of Light
So long *swoons*

Wait…actually I made three.

Sephiroth Angel of Light 3
Indecisive Narcissist is indecisive

I still like the very top one the best, though you can also see his lovely eyelashes in the bottom one, too *squeals*

All three of the pictures are screenshots from Crisis Core and obviously do not belong to me.

2 thoughts on “Angel of Light

Leave a Reply

