World Goth Day 5/22/15

I was happily reminded it was World Goth Day by Gothic Soul Flower (you should seriously check out her blog especially if you’re into gothic and/or bohemian style!), because I…well, I forgot.  I was more decked out yesterday where the silver buckles on my shoes matched the silver lined buttons on my coat, but I don’t have any pictures of that.  Bonus points: I matched my car.

Stock photo, but this is what it looks like.

What I DO have are pictures of is my makeup/hair experimentation from last week, which I will gladly share with you.

I was just recently thrust into the world of contact lenses after wearing glasses for nigh on thirty years, and well…okay, so I wasn’t happy with how I looked without glasses.  Scratch that, I hated how I looked without glasses.  I seriously felt ugly like I’d been hiding this lie behind my spectacles for all these years.  It was not a good time.  I was hoping I could do something with my makeup to, er, make up for what I saw as an imperfection with my eyes.  I have this weird thing where you can’t see the corners of them, and initially I thought maybe it was something other darker skinned ladies dealt with or maybe it ran in my family, but no, everyone I looked at did NOT have this problem.  Only me *sigh*  Also I noticed the dark circles under my eyes and wasn’t too pleased with them (although if I’m going for the goth look, they’re really not that bad, thinking in retrospect…)  I can only spend so much time crying about a problem before trying to solve it so I made my way to Sephora and immediately spent $100 on things to remedy.

I bought Amazonian Clay Waterproof 12-Hour Concealer by Tarte in Deep.

DERMAdoctor Wrinkle Revenge, because let’s not just cover up the problem.  It was super expensive (to me) at $50, and I haven’t remembered to use it since I bought it.  Oops.  I”m terrible with makeup really.  I don’t wear it every day because it’s time consuming and I like to sleep.

Finally, I found something I’ve been seeking for years.  Long, long ago at a makeup counter far away, I bought a lip gloss made by Prescriptives called Meteor.

It was the best lip gloss every.  It perfectly mirrored my lip color and just made them look so shiny.  Also, the name…Meteor?  I mean come on.  Perfection.

Unfortunately, Estee Lauder, the parent company, stopped selling Prescriptives in 2010 and with it my favorite lip gloss.  I tried googling “discontinued cosmetics” but to no avail.  Well, I finally had the foresight to pull up a picture of it when I was in Sephora last week, and a reasonable facsimile was located.  Makeup Forever’s Pearly Plum lip gloss.

So with these tools in tow, I proceeded to paint my face.

WGD 2
Oh yeah, I also bought a teeny, tiny tiara.
WGD 3
That is like my favorite coat.
White haired gothdom here I come!
White haired gothdom here I come!
Washed out tiny tiara, so sad!
Washed out tiny tiara, so sad!

Huh, well yeah, I didn’t show any pictures without my glasses.  Uhhhh, well I’m not super gothic here, but this is the non-glasses picture I like best

IMG_0664

After this I decided that my white/silver wig was pretty much done (I bought it for test reasons though the reasons why are kind of secret) so I discovered how dangerous the internet, a credit card, and late night browsing can be, and spent $50 on a new one.  I actually want to buy some wigs in assorted colors.  I have a gnawing desire to try blue hair since my cousin just did that.  I can’t technically wear them to work, but I’m really itching to own a shorter silver wig.  The one above is actually around five feet in length.  It’s…insane and also super tangled.  My husband did find a wig stand made for such, so I’ll be purchasing one of those, soon.

So this turned out to be a much longer post than intended, but my next adventure shall be the green contact lenses I just ordered and the custom ones I now need to find.

I hope you all have a lovely holiday weekend!

4 thoughts on “World Goth Day 5/22/15

    1. Thanks! I was actually shocked that I looked good with silver hair even though that wig is super ratty tee hee so I just ordered a new one. I really want to get a blue wig since my cousin just went that way with her hair and I’m curious. I don’t think I could wear them to work, though I’m not sure. My job is pretty open. Could possibly he away with the silver-blond but it would be much shorter than that particular piece 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

