Major/Minor Switching

The Caffeine Crew

Most of my favorite songs are written in the minor key. Like most I find it to be the register of sadness and darkness, and that just speaks to my eclectic tastes. I decided to catalog just what percentage of my regular playlist was in the minor key one day, and the results were pretty substantial. Then one day I was puttering around TV Tropes where I spend a good portion of my time, and I ended up in the video games section of the Awesome Music page, because why wouldn’t I be there, and there was a link to a G major version of One Winged Angel. I listened to it and just…no. No, no, no. It’s just wrong, and wrong in a different way than the wrongness the song is trying to symbolize. This did get me thinking though about other instances where major songs are switched…

View original post 1,440 more words

One thought on “Major/Minor Switching

Leave a Reply

