Borrowed Life

           The sun is down,

            The night is old,

            My sorrows shall I keep,

            Let me live,

            Or let me die,

            But never let me weep.

            The sky is burning on the wind,

            And all the stars are fled,

            But I shall keep my secrets here,

            And not betray the dead…

            For as I live this borrowed life,

            This silence I shall keep,

            Today I breathe until I die,

            But never let me weep.


This poem is featured in my currently shelved for editing paranormal romance novel The Serpent’s Tale.   It also lent its title to a fanfiction of the same (if pluralized) name Borrowed Lives. I’ve linked to that story but not posted it here because there’s an update I need to make for my own sanity/sense of rightness. Once I have five minutes to do so, here shall it be.
2 thoughts on “Borrowed Life

Leave a Reply

